Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very good, but I don't use nearly the amount of sauce as the recipe says. I just "eyeball" it. I also like to saute my veggies a little first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
We used to make stromboli at least once a month when the kids were young. I just remembered these and was so excited to find 1 pound balls of frozen pizza dough at Walmart. The crust was excellent! Much better than the frozen bread dough or rolls of refrigerated crust we used to use. I had leftover homemade marinara, and used both provolone and mozzarella and lots of veggies with turkey pepperoni. So good!! I'm going to stock up on those pizza dough balls so we can make these, calzones or pizza whenever we get a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend Tay, and he loved it... I used cresant rolls instead of pizza dough (by accident, I opened the wrong roll :{) but it was super good, I sauteed the onions green peppers and mushrooms with a ton of garlic and butter...so super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tays Kitchen Doodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
It was good. I just wasn't happy with the pizza dough I used. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I also used the refrigerated Pillsbury pizza dough, like a few suggested. It made it a quick and easy meal that my whole family loved. I left out the veggies....because I have a very fussy family, and put a thin layer of yellow mustard on top of the meats, because that's how I remember having in PA when I was young. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great way to give each family member what they want and it is SUPER fast to make. I also brush the top with oil and sprinkle Italian seasoning on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used Pillsbury refrigerated pizza dough, and didn't need to punch it down & let it rise, etc. Just rolled it out, added sauce & toppings, sealed, and baked. Easy! Instead of pizza sauce, I used garlic & onion cream cheese (I heated it in the microwave for about 20 seconds to make it creamy enough to spread), and it was delicious. I also sauteed the onion & mushrooms and let them cool for a few minutes before layering them in. I sprinkled the top of each stromboli with garlic salt and grated Parmesan before baking, which made it more like a flavored pizza crust. Awesome recipe, and very versatile; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was very good, will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Great. I omitted the sauce and served it on the side as a dipping sauce. A suggestion from a friend was to add a little yellow mustard to the dough before laying everything else on. Surprisingly the mustard gives it a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
My kids went nuts over this!! I used homemade marinara as a dipping sauce instead of putting it inside the sandwich due to a messy three year old. They are already asking to have this again on pizza night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States