Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
The kids flipped over this! Once assembled, I brushed the top of the dough with evoo and sprinkled with garlic and onion powders and Italian seasonings. Pillsbury pizza dough works incredibly well with this. Thank you Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I make a version of this stromboli once a month instead of getting pizza for the kids. I use frozen bread dough instead of the pizza dough (sure their about the same). My kids don't like mushrooms so we skip them. Instead I put in roasted red peppers for the veggie. My family LOVES stromboli! It's very easy to make and have taught my kids how to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Great recipe! I made it for an appetizer at a holiday get together and there was nothing left! Everyone loved it! I got the dough at a local pizza store so it was all ready to go. I just left out the mushrooms because my husbands doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Yum! This was so easy & really good. Nice change from pizza. I made a couple changes based on what I had on hand & personal preferences. I reduced in half for our smaller family & made one big stromboli rather than smaller ones. I only put half the sauce inside & saved the other half for dipping. I used salami, pepperoni & Italian sausage because that is what I had. And I slightly sauteed the veggies with a little olive oil & Italian seasoning. That is the great thing about this recipe is there are so many ways to change it up. The possibilites are endless. Thanks for a great recipe! Definately added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was great! Very easy...I eliminated most of the meats and just used spicy italian sausage and pepperoni. I also used the packets of crust (just add water) instead of the refrigerated one. Lastly, I pretty much eyeballed the ingredients rather than measuring everything out which also made it quicker. It was delicious-I'll definitelyl make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
My kids went nuts over this!! I used homemade marinara as a dipping sauce instead of putting it inside the sandwich due to a messy three year old. They are already asking to have this again on pizza night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Great. I omitted the sauce and served it on the side as a dipping sauce. A suggestion from a friend was to add a little yellow mustard to the dough before laying everything else on. Surprisingly the mustard gives it a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I used Pillsbury refrigerated pizza dough, and didn't need to punch it down & let it rise, etc. Just rolled it out, added sauce & toppings, sealed, and baked. Easy! Instead of pizza sauce, I used garlic & onion cream cheese (I heated it in the microwave for about 20 seconds to make it creamy enough to spread), and it was delicious. I also sauteed the onion & mushrooms and let them cool for a few minutes before layering them in. I sprinkled the top of each stromboli with garlic salt and grated Parmesan before baking, which made it more like a flavored pizza crust. Awesome recipe, and very versatile; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great way to give each family member what they want and it is SUPER fast to make. I also brush the top with oil and sprinkle Italian seasoning on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I also used the refrigerated Pillsbury pizza dough, like a few suggested. It made it a quick and easy meal that my whole family loved. I left out the veggies....because I have a very fussy family, and put a thin layer of yellow mustard on top of the meats, because that's how I remember having in PA when I was young. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States