Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
AWESOME recipe ... I substituted STEWING BEEF instead of Ground Beef. Added mushrooms & garlic. Served over fusilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Made a few adjustments, but a great base. I used chicken instead of beef, added green onions instead, some Riesling and more paprika and chopped Portobello mushrooms. And it turned out excellent for me, thanks for sharing your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Fine for a simple weeknight meal. Family liked it alright but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Here is what I did. I added garlic powder to the meat while cooking like most other reviews, drained the meat, added a little water and flour to make a roux, added two cans of cream of mushroom soup, and 1 cup of sour cream. Once I cooked the noodles I needed to add a little more milk to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very bland, and I did not use the flour as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
As is, this recipe is 1 star, but with adjustments it could be a 4 star, thus the 2 star rating. I started making as written, but realized that the sauce wouldn't have worked out the way it is. In the end I couldn't tell you how much milk I added to the sauce, I just kept adding it as the sauce thickened. My family enjoyed it, but I think I'll look for another stroganoff recipe that doesn't need tweeking so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great recipe if you want something fast and simple. I started the water cooking and then started frying the meat and onions. I followed the recipe but had a few changes. My kids do not like sour cream so I used cream instead. when the noodles were cooked I just added the sauce to the noodles for easy service. We had to add more salt and since I love pepper I had to add pepper. For a crunch my kids added fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I usually don't rate recipes unless I prepare them exactly as written but I had to comment on this one. First of all, I was disturbed by the amount of grease this produced and you don't drain it off. I couldn't help myself... I was scooping it off (and this was AFTER the soup, flour, and seasonings were added). Like other reviewers I added some garlic powder and also some beef base. When the sour cream was added I was relieved because the grease was gone and it looked and tasted like stroganoff should. I don't think I'll make this one again but thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajzmama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
It's big hit in my house hold. Especially for my picky eater. It's super easy to make. Which is a plus, also a mom to a mobile 9 month old. Instead of using macaroni like the recipe requests. I used bow tie noodles-which worked even better. Again super easy and highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzmama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Rimrock, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very very tasty! Cooked it for my pot luck at work and had a few compliments. Instead of using cream though I would suggest using sour cream mixed with small curd cottage cheese. Sounds a little crazy but itll give it a smoother and more creamy taste. Also I like using a half stick of butter to mix in with it, itll keep if from making that glue like paste. If you want to spice it up a bit a used tomato bisque soup mixed with franks hot sauce since I put that on everything, the tomato bisque will tenderize the meat to perfection and you cant even taste it in the end result. Another thing I would like to add is packing some artichoke hearts in there then baking the stroganoff for 15 min on 450, itll give it a very tasty crust which makes the meal a ton better! Happy cooking, this recipe is a family recipe passed on by my grandmother, its very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States