Stroganoff Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I was in the mood for a thinner cream soup so I made with only 1 can cream of mushroom soup and used only about 1/4 c sour cream. I also only had 1/2 lb ground beef so I threw in some chopped broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, and celery to supplement. I browned the ground beef and veggies with garlic and some cayenne, then drained. Then added 3 cups beef broth instead of water and a splash of red wine. Brought to a boil, then reduce heat and simmered about 10 mins. I used an immersion blender to get the big chunks of veggies smaller. Then added cream of mushroom soup, heated through. Then removed from heat and added sour cream so it wouldn't curdle. Finally, added cooked egg noodles. I would make this again but definitely add fresh mushrooms. This was a good base recipe for me to adjust to my own taste and what I had on hand. I wanted a cream soup but had no milk on hand. The canned soup and sour cream did the trick. I also think fresh parsley would be a great addition. Yummy lunch to make on a day off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I wasn't a huge fan of this recipe. It has potential, I am a bit of a greenhorn when it comes to cooking so I have no idea what it needs to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe was utterly tasteless. It was a complete waste of time and money. I even went as far to add ingredients (mushrooms, pressed garlic, and substituted in a can of golden mushroom soup) for more flavor. Nope. Still sucked. I will never understand why people post such useless recipes online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
It was very bland. I added tons of salt and still no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
A bit bland, but still pretty darn good. Will tweak it more next time around. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Before I say anything, not every recipe is for everyone. I did not care for this at all. It was very thick, and really no flavor, and 2 hrs in the crock pot is not enough time to tenderize round steak. I followed the recipe exactly. I have now added a can of beef consomme, hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce,garlic powder and mushrooms. I am just hoping that the additional cooking time will not turn the noodles into mush. This is really a beef stroganoff not a soup. Brittany I am sorry;( I know how disappointing it is when someone doesn't like a recipe, but everyone tastes are different and others have liked it so Thank you for sharing! It just wasn't for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was pretty ok. I did make a few changes. For extra flavor I used Golden Mushroom soup and 2 beef bullion. I didn't do the Cream of Mushroom and steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I did alter the recipe, but primarily the cooking method. I cooked the beef in the slow cooker all day, then added all the ingredients on the stovetop. I used fewer noodles and had to add more water (could be due to stovetop cooking). I added more steak sauce (1 TBSP) because I enjoy the taste of it. I would also recommend using small noodles; I used wide and they were hard to get on the spoon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this recipe a little different and it turned out divine! Instead of using round stead, I used low fat hamburger. I also used low fat sour cream. To make the soup have more flavor I added two packages of sliced baby portabellas for more of a natural mushroom taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I followed the directions, but for some reason it came out horrible....the sour cream curdled on me and we ended up eating out instead.....will def try again without sour cream unless I add it right before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Brittknee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States