Stroganoff Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was just ok. Maybe it's because my mother-in-law's stroganoff is so much better tasting. I'll just stick with hers. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I have made this recipe for years. One thing I have found that works well is instead of buying french or itlian bread loaf I buy individual crusty hogies found in the bakery at the grocery store. It makes the sandwich more managable to eat, especially for my kids. I also make this to take to parties and I use 2 long thin baguettes. When you slice them it is perfect bite size pieces. They get ate up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
My family does not like green peppers, but that is the only think I left off. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I thought this was really good. I generously added garlic powder to my hamburger as it was browning and then added a packet of brown gravy mix with the sour cream step. I also used 1 TBSP of worchestershire instead of only 1 tsp. Did salt and pepper to taste. I must have had a big loaf of bread because I didn't have enough meat mixture to cover both sides. That was OK though because it made it much easier to close! Very good, messy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Messy but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanna
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by how good this was. My loaf of bread might have been bigger, as 1 1/2 lbs of beef was barely enough. As others suggested, I added a packet brown gravy mix to the beef. I made this in advance to warm later so decided to scoop out the bread, spread the loaf with garlic butter and toast it. I then loaded it up and refrigerated it until dinner time. I then put it in the oven at 300 to warm and then broiled the top until the cheese was bubbly. My 17 year old son at one of the halves all by himself, while my hubby and I shared the other. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Try scooping out some of the bread in the loaf; make a "well" so the rest of the ingredients will fit nicely when the top is placed back on the sandwich. I will post another similar recipe called "Cheeseburger Loaf" that has a little different twist to it. Ingredients: 1 # gr. beef; 1/4 c. chpd onion; 1 can tomato soup, undiluted; 1/2 t. garlic salt; 1/4 t. salt & pepper; 1 loaf french bread; 1 # butter, softened; amer. cheese slices. Brown meat, add soup & other ingredients. simmer 5-10 min. After slicing & hallowing out bottom of loaf. Butter bread on top & bottom. Broil butter side up until light brown. Spooin in meat mixture, lay cheese over meat. Return bottom loaf only to oven; broil until cheese melts. remove from oven; return top over bottom loaf. press slightly to seal. slice in individual servings. serve warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Good...but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was pretty good, a little bit bland. It lacked some of the good "beefy" flavor that real beef stroganoff has, so you might want to consider adding some bouillon or something. Green peppers were a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Hubby and I really liked this. I did add some garlic powder to the meat as it was browning. I think it turned out very good. Put the cheese on hubby sandwich but left it off of mine....liked it that way. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States