Stroganoff Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I have made this recipe for years. One thing I have found that works well is instead of buying french or itlian bread loaf I buy individual crusty hogies found in the bakery at the grocery store. It makes the sandwich more managable to eat, especially for my kids. I also make this to take to parties and I use 2 long thin baguettes. When you slice them it is perfect bite size pieces. They get ate up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanna
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by how good this was. My loaf of bread might have been bigger, as 1 1/2 lbs of beef was barely enough. As others suggested, I added a packet brown gravy mix to the beef. I made this in advance to warm later so decided to scoop out the bread, spread the loaf with garlic butter and toast it. I then loaded it up and refrigerated it until dinner time. I then put it in the oven at 300 to warm and then broiled the top until the cheese was bubbly. My 17 year old son at one of the halves all by himself, while my hubby and I shared the other. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This sandwich is a great idea!! Per other reviews, I seasoned up the meat a bit more with garlic salt, pepper, and Monterey Steak Seasoning. Also, added mushrooms. What's stroganoff without the mushrooms? I thought all that sour cream sounded like a bit much(I'm not a huge fan of it) So I still used the 1 cup of sour cream, but used 2 TBS of worcestershire instead of 2 tsps. I will be making this again. Thanks for the starter recipe which turned out to be a very tasty, filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I thought this was really good. I generously added garlic powder to my hamburger as it was browning and then added a packet of brown gravy mix with the sour cream step. I also used 1 TBSP of worchestershire instead of only 1 tsp. Did salt and pepper to taste. I must have had a big loaf of bread because I didn't have enough meat mixture to cover both sides. That was OK though because it made it much easier to close! Very good, messy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Hubby and I really liked this. I did add some garlic powder to the meat as it was browning. I think it turned out very good. Put the cheese on hubby sandwich but left it off of mine....liked it that way. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is really good! I also, like many, added spices while browning the beef. But I make this all the time. Fast cheap and easy! I also put jalapeno peppers, the pickled kind, and it turns out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarLemons86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Try scooping out some of the bread in the loaf; make a "well" so the rest of the ingredients will fit nicely when the top is placed back on the sandwich. I will post another similar recipe called "Cheeseburger Loaf" that has a little different twist to it. Ingredients: 1 # gr. beef; 1/4 c. chpd onion; 1 can tomato soup, undiluted; 1/2 t. garlic salt; 1/4 t. salt & pepper; 1 loaf french bread; 1 # butter, softened; amer. cheese slices. Brown meat, add soup & other ingredients. simmer 5-10 min. After slicing & hallowing out bottom of loaf. Butter bread on top & bottom. Broil butter side up until light brown. Spooin in meat mixture, lay cheese over meat. Return bottom loaf only to oven; broil until cheese melts. remove from oven; return top over bottom loaf. press slightly to seal. slice in individual servings. serve warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
We are not tomato fans so we left those off, but followed the recipe other than that. The flavor of the hamburger mixture and green peppers and cheese goes together perfectly. My husband hates sour cream so I was worried since these have so much in them...but they were a huge hit! We both loved them and each ate two big hoagies! Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great Recipe!!! add pepper jack cheese under the the beef and add mushrooms and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
After some changes I would rate this a 5 star recipe. My family enjoyed it, even my 3 kids. After tasting the meat mixture I also added a packet of brown gravy and it added alot of flavor. I also added the green peppers with the onion to cook them slightly and used some fresh mushrooms and garlic instead of the garlic powder. I will use this recipe again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States