Stringy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
What's not to love about this dish? I must admit that I made one major substitution by halving the recipe and using a jar of Trader Joe's Traditional Marinara Sauce (sorry about that to all those who don't like reviews that change the recipe!). I divided the ingredients between two cereal-bowl-sized Corning dishes, following the stated proportions of cheese. I couldn't help but scarf down a few healthy spoonfuls after snapping my photos! Total comfort food! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This recipe has become a family staple. However, I don't make anything Italian without adding garlic and basil. So, to start the sauce, I like to saute the onion along with a clove of garlic, to start the sauce. I tried it once using jarred spaghetti sauce, but I wasn't sure how much to use and it came out too saucy. The thing I really like about this recipe is the predominance of the cheeses. With too much sauce, the cheeses get overwhelmed. Tip: If you don't have shells, other shapes work too. Just use a short-cut pasta. You want a smallish chunky shape to hold onto the cheese in each bite. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was very good! I made it exactly as written and we loved it. You could definitely add other vegetables to the sauce and change it up any way you prefer. I always make recipes as they are printed before adding my own touches though and this one is definitely 5 stars as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
The only thing I changed was using minced onion instead of fresh and I added garlic. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This a is a Very good dish, next time I'll use all the sauces and cheese. My family love it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOWBOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Yum! I needed a recipe that used things I already had on hand, so I used a jar of spaghetti sauce instead of making the simple tomato one, and added sliced roma tomatoes to one of the layers, canned mushrooms to another, and used whole wheat pasta shells. I did loosely cover the top with foil as others have suggested and that worked well. Took the foil off near the end, just to brown it up. A great-tasting, simple, and quick meal I'll make again. The leftovers were also equally good and went quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Everyone loved it. I used romano and cheddar in place of cottage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was very good! I also used ricotta cheese because I didn't have cottage cheese. Mine also got a little crusty on the top, so next time I will cover with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
husband didnt like the cottage cheese and kids didn't like the tomato's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Readstown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I made a lot of changes, but only to lower the calories and add more veggies. For the sauce, I chopped 1 onion, 3 tomatoes, and 1 green pepper in the food processor. I combined with 15 oz canned mushrooms and 8 oz tomato sauce. I then added pasta seasoning (basil, oregano, etc.), but did not cook. I used bowtie pasta and layered: 1/2 pasta, 1/2 sauce, cottage cheese, 1/2 pasta, 1/2 sauce, mozzarella cheese. This made 8 large servings at only 250 calories each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States