Striker's Potatoes O'Brien Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
greta for the freezer- would be better if potatoes were patted dry before freezing- otherwise they stick in as glop. Very good taste though!! Great cooked with scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I actually tried to wing it, then found the recipe afterwards. (Men and instructions syndrome). I used small yellow knutsen potatoes, cubed them raw, then blanched for about 3-5 minutes in well salted water. Pulled them whilst they still had some good firmness, but not raw. Drained well and cooled, including some time on a paper towel in a single layer to get all moisture out. I also added one diced serrano pepper (w/out seeds and membrane cuz my wife isn't a pepper-head). I may add a bit of fresh roasted red pepper at cook time. The only reason that some of this will make it into the freezer bag is because I made a fairly large batch. So easy, inexpensive and healthy compared to store-bought frozen stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wodawic
Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
If you are looking for easy freezer foods, this one is sure to please. However, I recommend that you flash freeze the mixture before bagging. The first time I made these, I followed the directions exactly and they all froze together in one big clump. Luckily, I laid the bag flat in the freezer and with a little effort, I was able to break off a chunk. Not exactly ideal for cooking. The second time I made them, I decided to flash freeze before bagging. This yielded a perfect bag of frozen potatoes. Six weeks later, they still have beautiful color and can easily be poured from the freezer bag into the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Striker, are you married? Because if not I am pretty sure your cooking could catch you whatevever mate your heart might desire! These are GREAT -- WONDERFUL idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've made these potatoes for years. The only minor things I do differently is bake them instead of boiling them as I and my family like the flavor better. Add some season salt and pepper as you then fry them in a skillet with your veg and there you have it! I don't measure out the oil, just use a small amount in the bottom of the pan to keep everything from sticking. As was noted above rinsing the potatoes if you boil them will keep the sticky down. Step 2 is perfect for freezing but for cooking that day or the next several days, I just store the potatoes in the fridge, peel and add everything to the skillet with a dab of oil and the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Wonderful! Doubling the recipe filled one gallon bag and one pint bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made these for breakfast. I used new potatoes, a tomato with the juice taken out, rosemary and paprika, and added a single slice of thin bacon. The recipe above is awesome. mine came out great, too. Of all the ones I've seen listed, this one was the only one that didn't use the oven, which made for much more flavorful and crisp potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
just a comment; I assume you use a portion immediately before freezing the rest. I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
For some extra nutrition and flair, I made this using a combination of potatoes and winter squash, in addition to the peppers and onions. Fried up with a little olive oil, and some garlic and salt. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Yum! Thanks for the recipe :) I ended up using red, orange, yellow, and green peppers, and sauteeing these in olive oil, separately from the potatoes. I used redskin potatoes (a whole bag of them) and sauteed those in leftover bacon grease. Maybe not the healthiest way to make this, but definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States