Streusel-Topped Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These were ok, but I have to agree with others who said they were bland and tasted like dough. The streusel topping made them edible, but otherwise, not very good. I'm convinced many recipes on All Recipes are typed incorrectly. This seemed to be missing something. The topping needed flour to make it more crumbly. I intended to add vanilla as others have suggested, but forgot. I think that would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very good!! I made 1/2 with the topping and 1/2 with jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I had to add more milk to the batter because it was so thick. The streusel topping has too much butter in it and ran off of the muffins when they baked. I also found the muffin unflavorful. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These were AMAZING!!! Husband and friends loved them... this recipe is going in the book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I only used the recipe for the streusel topping from this recipe and put it on blueberry muffins. It was very good! It was a tad too sweet for my family. Next time I will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Batter was extremely thick and not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Batter was way too dry - more like a bread dough consistency. Ended up increasing milk to 1 cup, adding 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the batter - but still found the batter to be a bit bland. Baked for 12 minutes on the middle rack of my oven then took them out added the streusel topping and baked for another 5 minutes on the top rack. Still only turned out okay, wouldn't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Yummy taste, but streusel was a MESS! Tried pushing into batter, not filling cups too high etc, and still melted all over the side of the muffin pan (and not on the muffin!). Also followed the suggesetion of other reviewers and added cinnamon and brown sugar to batter. I also added a touch of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DC
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I thought they were really dry. Not sure what I did wrong. Had them in the oven for about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States