Streusel Topped Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Houston
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Look no further-if I could give this a 10, I would! But please do this: double the lemon zest and add 1/4 c. brown sugar. I bake these for a local farm and art market, they go fast! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
We loved this muffin recipe! They didn't last long! I used frozen blueberries and they came out really nicely. Will definitely make these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Quick and simple to mix up, these are beautiful muffins, plump and rounded with a delicate, light golden streusel top. They're moist and delicious with just a hint of fresh lemon that complements the blueberries well. For those who believe these to be bland or tasteless, muffins are by their nature not as rich or sweet as cakes, or muffins described as muffins but really ARE cakes. This is a perfect blueberry MUFFIN recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were fabulous--even with my healthier changes! I used whole wheat flour, half splenda and half white sugar, egg substitute, and apple sauce in place of the butter. I added 1/2 cup more blueberries and used half brown and half white sugars in the crumble on top. These are amazing--we can't keep ourselves away!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This recipe is great!!! Really tasty. I substituted brown sugar for the white in the streusel topping and added 1/4 tsp vanilla to it too. I also put 2 cups of blueberries into the muffins instead of 1 1/2. The muffins turned out wonderful, really moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Eh. Lots of extra work for average muffins, in my opinion. I think the muffins would come out nicer if you just add the milk to the butter mixture and then add the flour mixture all at once; the way the recipe is written, it's difficult to NOT overwork the batter. I probably won't try it again, though; it just wasn't anything exciting. Nice, predictable, okay muffins. Frankly, I liked the batter more than the muffins. And just in case you're considering it: These do NOT ship well. I baked them, let them cool, and shipped them two-day express all in the same day, and they were rancid when they arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This is a really great muffin. People love the topping which makes it sweet enough. I think it needs more lemon zest or lemon juice. Orange extract also gives it good additional flavor. To make large muffins increase bake time to 40-45min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Great blueberry muffins, even though I left out the lemon zest. The topping was wonderful, next time I'll use brown sugar instead of white as other reviewers have suggested. I made a few without the topping and they turned out great as well. These muffins are filled with blueberries and have a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
These were great. I even substituted half of the butter with applesauce, and they still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lperrone
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
i added 1/4 cup of brown sugar to the mix, used 2 cups frozen blueberries and replaced lemon zest w 1/2 tsp of orange zest. i had half a bag of apple crisp & fruit topping mix from country gourmet sitting in my pantry so i used that in place of the streusel topping. they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lperrone

Displaying results 1-10 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States