Streusel Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I HAD LOST MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE FOR KUCHEN YEARS AGO, THIS WAS EXACTLY LIKE MY GRANDMOTHER USED TO MAKE IT! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made this for our family's first Oktoberfest celebration and it was a HUGE hit! I will definitely make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
If you eat this cake straight out of the oven you probably won't have any leftover. Everyone in my family enjoyed this so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out great! I'll submit a photo if the picture turns out as well... Altered the recipe a bit though after reading the other reviews: Used butter flavored shortening (and a little extra) instead of plain ol' shortening; put in a little over a Tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 2 teaspoons... I think that the butter flavored shortening helped tone down any extra floury taste. I also had to cook it a little longer than suggested. Was a hit at work and at home... Even with the adjustments, would recommend eating with a favorite beverage on hand (mine turned out a tad bit dry the first time... second time, though, PERFECT!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wolcottville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this at Easter. I did not add the pecans though. I had to experiment with the topping to get the right consistency I was looking for that would be similar to the kuchen we used to get from a local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Just like mom use to make! I also left the cake in the oven for 2 minutes more and it was too long. The timing is perfect. I would just use a smaller pan so the cake will be thicker. This is the coffee cake that I had been looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I took this to a pot luck gathering and it was a hit! I doubled the recipe to make thicker slices and used a 9x13 glass pan. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcottle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I WASNT SURE IF I WOULD LIKE THIS ...I MUST SAY EVERYONE WAS RIGHT THIS IS A HIT! I MADE THIS FOR A FRIEND WHOM IS GERMAN AND LOVES ALL THINGS GREMAN...HE WAS IN HEAVEN! ITS ONLY BEEN 2 DAYS SINCE I MADE THE FIRST ONE AND I HAVE ONE IN THE OVEN RIGHT NOW....I ADDED A TABLESPOON OR SO MORE MILK SINCE ALOT OF PEOPLE MENTIONED IT BEING DRY...MINE WAS PERFECT AND MOIST! KATHY CAPEZZUTO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathys kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I loved this cake so much! Very easy to make. I added half a tablespoon of vanilla extract and a little more butter flavored shortning! So far I have4 recieved 2 death threats if I do not make this cake again ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I added fresh chopped pears from the tree to the top of the cake and then added the streusel. I mixed the pears with some flour, cinnamon, and vanilla sugar ( something we have here in Germany). This cake is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States