Streusel Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I HAD LOST MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE FOR KUCHEN YEARS AGO, THIS WAS EXACTLY LIKE MY GRANDMOTHER USED TO MAKE IT! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Very tasty but a bit dry when cooked 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
If you eat this cake straight out of the oven you probably won't have any leftover. Everyone in my family enjoyed this so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was easy to make! I realized that I forgot the cinnamon so that's why it tasted different. I baked it 5 minutes longer to make sure it was done and the bottom got a little tough. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out great! I'll submit a photo if the picture turns out as well... Altered the recipe a bit though after reading the other reviews: Used butter flavored shortening (and a little extra) instead of plain ol' shortening; put in a little over a Tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 2 teaspoons... I think that the butter flavored shortening helped tone down any extra floury taste. I also had to cook it a little longer than suggested. Was a hit at work and at home... Even with the adjustments, would recommend eating with a favorite beverage on hand (mine turned out a tad bit dry the first time... second time, though, PERFECT!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wolcottville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Just like mom use to make! I also left the cake in the oven for 2 minutes more and it was too long. The timing is perfect. I would just use a smaller pan so the cake will be thicker. This is the coffee cake that I had been looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this at Easter. I did not add the pecans though. I had to experiment with the topping to get the right consistency I was looking for that would be similar to the kuchen we used to get from a local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yumm! I am losing this recipe because I cannot have it in my house. I could eat this every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe is tasty but a bit on the dry side. I doubled the cake ingredients to get a thicker cake and used chopped walnuts in place of pecan. When doubling I used 1/4 c shortening and 1/4 cup margarine. I also cooked it for 35 mins since I doubled. Think I will try 30 mins next time and all margarine instead of shortening. UPDATE: Doubled recipe again but used 1/2 cup margarine (no shortening) and 1 tsp vanilla and baked it for 35 minutes. Came out less dry this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I took this to a pot luck gathering and it was a hit! I doubled the recipe to make thicker slices and used a 9x13 glass pan. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcottle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States