Streusel Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I HAD LOST MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE FOR KUCHEN YEARS AGO, THIS WAS EXACTLY LIKE MY GRANDMOTHER USED TO MAKE IT! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Very tasty but a bit dry when cooked 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
If you eat this cake straight out of the oven you probably won't have any leftover. Everyone in my family enjoyed this so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This was easy to make! I realized that I forgot the cinnamon so that's why it tasted different. I baked it 5 minutes longer to make sure it was done and the bottom got a little tough. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out great! I'll submit a photo if the picture turns out as well... Altered the recipe a bit though after reading the other reviews: Used butter flavored shortening (and a little extra) instead of plain ol' shortening; put in a little over a Tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 2 teaspoons... I think that the butter flavored shortening helped tone down any extra floury taste. I also had to cook it a little longer than suggested. Was a hit at work and at home... Even with the adjustments, would recommend eating with a favorite beverage on hand (mine turned out a tad bit dry the first time... second time, though, PERFECT!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wolcottville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Just like mom use to make! I also left the cake in the oven for 2 minutes more and it was too long. The timing is perfect. I would just use a smaller pan so the cake will be thicker. This is the coffee cake that I had been looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this at Easter. I did not add the pecans though. I had to experiment with the topping to get the right consistency I was looking for that would be similar to the kuchen we used to get from a local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yumm! I am losing this recipe because I cannot have it in my house. I could eat this every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe is tasty but a bit on the dry side. I doubled the cake ingredients to get a thicker cake and used chopped walnuts in place of pecan. When doubling I used 1/4 c shortening and 1/4 cup margarine. I also cooked it for 35 mins since I doubled. Think I will try 30 mins next time and all margarine instead of shortening. UPDATE: Doubled recipe again but used 1/2 cup margarine (no shortening) and 1 tsp vanilla and baked it for 35 minutes. Came out less dry this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I took this to a pot luck gathering and it was a hit! I doubled the recipe to make thicker slices and used a 9x13 glass pan. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcottle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States