Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Well I'll be making this for the first time today, I just moved out of my folks house a couple months ago and left my bunt cake pan there, so I'll be making this into a roll. Pouring the batter on a greased waxed paper sheet, cooking it than putting the filling on top. Cook it a few minutes longer, than roll it up and drizzle some ising on top. 3 stars for now, just for it looking and sounding good. I'll edit and put the real rate later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Everone loves this each time we make it. I use brown sugar in the cinnamon blend and twirl it into the mix with a fork to get a more even distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a nice coffee cake. I wanted to make it as written, but when I saw the amount of streusel, I did decide to double it and it came out great. Next time I will probably finish with the batter on top (putting streusel only in middle) because when you flip the cake, the sugar/nut mixture is kind of messy and crumbly to have on the bottom of cake. Also I did not have quite enough sour cream (had 1 and 1/4 cup) but it sill came out fine. The cake itself is not too sweet, so the sweet streusel is a nice contrast. It got a little too brown on the crust, but inside was still good and moist. Baked about 50-55 min., maybe it was a few too many min. Overall, happy with the coffee cake, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This cake has a great flavor but I don't see how anyone can "pour" this batter. It is way too stiff to pour. I had to add close to a full cup of milk just so I could get it in the Bundt pan. I will probably make it again but with some adjustments like one cup less flour and twice as much of the streusel filling. And I think I will bake it in a rectangular pan--half the batter, filling on top and then the other half of the batter. I only baked it about 50 minutes and even with the addition of the milk it still came out somewhat dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Well, this was my first attempt, ever, at a Coffee Cake. I was pleasantly surprised. I did change some things. I used canola oil, instead of butter, whole fat plain goat yogurt (can't have cow dairy in our house) instead of sour cream. I also used half splenda, and half splenda brown sugar blend for the cake, and used splenda brown sugar blend for the streusel. I doubled the streusel too. I found this cake moist, yummy, not too sweet ... I think I'll add little pieces of apple next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and found it to be blander than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I took into account of other reviews and put the streusel on the last 10 minutes of baking, but next time will make more since I felt it was lacking. Tasted a m a z i n g!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlie2890

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Baked for over 60 minutes -- seemed like it was getting too dry on the outside, yet I had some of the inner ring not fully baked. I substituted granualted brown sugar for some of the white sugar for flavor and appearance. This combination on the top of the cake ended up tasting burned. I would put MORE than 1/2 the sugar mixture in the center of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was a good cake tasted much better when still warm. Would add more of the streusal to the middle of the cake since I like a lot of it.Was a little dry but heating it up took care of that. Not sure if I would make again maybe with a few changes it could be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
It might be okay, if it wasn't SOOOO dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States