Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake is amazing. I tweeked it some. Doubled the streusel and the vanilla. I also decreased the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups and added half a block of cream cheese. A layer of chopped apples added a wonderful touch. Then I made a cream cheese frosting for the top and sprinkled with additional pecans. My co-workers loved it. Tastes even better on day two. I liked my piece warmed in the microwave for 20 seconds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
No problems with this coffee cake at all. I put one third of the batter in the pan and sprinkled with half the streusel, which I doubled and used brown sugar instead of white. Added another third of the batter; sprinkled with remaining streusel and the rest of the batter. Instead of two teaspoons of vanilla, I used one teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon extract. When cool, I drizzled a confectioners sugar glaze over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This cake was moist and tasty and easy to make. My husband took it to work and it was immediately devoured. Will make it again and will add extra nuts and filling mix . Great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved this coffee cake . wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
this cake was awesome!!! i made it in a bundt pan and it was the perfect amount. it makes a big cake so it is good for a pot luck or a party. very moist and tasty. i omitted nuts because i did not have them but added chocolate chips to the cinnamon sugar mmm mmm good great warm with a cold glass of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good and very easy. I took the advise of other reviewers and used half white & half brown sugars and doubled the topping also with brown sugar. Gets moist as it sits so better the next day. Came out beautiful in my bundt pan. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Amazingly Yummy! Followed it to a T in ingredients. I noticed it seemed like a lot of batter, so I baked it in a 9x13 and took the advice of putting the cinnamon mixture in layers of 1/3's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a classic coffee cake, similar to what my late mother used to keep on hand for guests, but the recipe needed some help. First, I baked this in a flat-bottomed angel food type tube cake pan (the closest modern equivalent to my mother's tube pan w/ straight, 3-1/2" sides that was designed for streusel cakes). I covered the top w/ foil for part of the bake time to prevent the streusel from burning. This way the cake is turned out upside down, but is then inverted again so that the streusel is back on top. Fluted cake tops can't show the streusel, and the batter is less likely to run over in a taller pan. I made the cake as written except for using lowfat sour cream but w/o salt (almost 1 tsp) there is the "flat" taste some reviewers mentioned. When a baking recipe calls for butter but doesn't specify what type, the convention is that it means unsalted butter. Perhaps the submitter uses salted butter or margarine, so she didn't include the necessary salt in the recipe. If you use supermarket vanilla extract (and not extra-strength gourmet extract) the amount of vanilla should be doubled. Streusel sticks better if it includes a bit of butter. My batter came out too thick to spread well in the pan, and the cake was more oily-textured than I like. One solution to both issues is to sub in applesauce for half the recipe's butter. However, the recipe was a great starting point to recreate my mother's classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was great. Everyone loved it. I added more of the streusel mix using brown/white sugar like many suggested. I also made an icing to drizzle on top. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
All of the unfavorable reviews are right on...this is very dry and bland, even after following suggestions to double the streusel and use brown sugar. Keep looking, there are better recipes. I will never make this again, what a waste of good flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States