Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Really wonderful recipe. Simple and the results are consistent. I've made this about a dozen times; as written and also with modifications. In place of the sour cream I have used yogurt and/or buttermilk which seems to give a slightly lighter cake. I have also replaced the walnut mixture with blueberries, poppyseed or a mixture of almond paste and almond filling. Giving this five stars because you can be creative with this recipe and each variation turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sgoode
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This recipe was FANTASTIC! It was a hit with friends and family alike. I only changed a couple things: used light sour cream and brown sugar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Everyone loved this cake! Made this over the holidays and we couldn't wait till after dinner to indulge. Greased the bundt pan and sprinkle with a cinnamon and sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkerdickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake is amazing. I tweeked it some. Doubled the streusel and the vanilla. I also decreased the sour cream to 1 1/2 cups and added half a block of cream cheese. A layer of chopped apples added a wonderful touch. Then I made a cream cheese frosting for the top and sprinkled with additional pecans. My co-workers loved it. Tastes even better on day two. I liked my piece warmed in the microwave for 20 seconds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
No problems with this coffee cake at all. I put one third of the batter in the pan and sprinkled with half the streusel, which I doubled and used brown sugar instead of white. Added another third of the batter; sprinkled with remaining streusel and the rest of the batter. Instead of two teaspoons of vanilla, I used one teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon extract. When cool, I drizzled a confectioners sugar glaze over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This cake was moist and tasty and easy to make. My husband took it to work and it was immediately devoured. Will make it again and will add extra nuts and filling mix . Great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved this coffee cake . wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
this cake was awesome!!! i made it in a bundt pan and it was the perfect amount. it makes a big cake so it is good for a pot luck or a party. very moist and tasty. i omitted nuts because i did not have them but added chocolate chips to the cinnamon sugar mmm mmm good great warm with a cold glass of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very good and very easy. I took the advise of other reviewers and used half white & half brown sugars and doubled the topping also with brown sugar. Gets moist as it sits so better the next day. Came out beautiful in my bundt pan. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Amazingly Yummy! Followed it to a T in ingredients. I noticed it seemed like a lot of batter, so I baked it in a 9x13 and took the advice of putting the cinnamon mixture in layers of 1/3's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States