Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This recipe was excellent, the yogurt in the mix along with 3 eggs made the cake moist and light.Instead of using all the butter called for I used half apple sauce/half butter in the streusel and batter and it turned out great. I also used 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 all purpose.I found the cake a little too sweet for my taste, and used 1 1/4 C but next time would use 1 C in the batter. I baked it in a 9x13 pan sprayed with Pam, it baked in about 45 minutes and tasted great. Two layers of batter 2 layers of streusel on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I used a regular cake pan, not a bundt pan. Also, I used egg substitute and vanilla yogurt (instead of plain and left out the vanilla extract). Baked for 45 minutes at 350 and 25 minutes at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is the first time I tried making a cake like this from scratch and I love how it turned out. I took it to work and everyone gobbled it up. It is definitely a keeper. I left out the nuts because I knew someone was allergic. I also made a bit of frosting to dribble on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is tasty, but quite a bit of work - particularly if you do the streusel by hand, as I did. I used four apples (could have used even more), and half the streusel, which was enough. Thought it was a bit on the dry side; the batter could have used some extra milk/liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Wonderful coffeecake! I used sour cream because I didn't have any yogurt - but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The only change I would make next time is to cook the apples a little before I put them in the batter to soften them up a bit (I prefer the apples to be cooked through). I had two very large granny smith apples and they were still a little crispy by the time the cake was done - so I probably had too much apple for the batter. I took this coffeecake to a church gathering yesterday and it was gone very quickly. Thanks for sharing Kris! I'll definitely make this coffeecake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe as written, but my batter was REALLY thick. I don't know what I did, so I add 2 small individual cinnamon applesauce containers that I happened to have, that loosed the batter enough that I could somewhat pour (scrape) it into the bundt pan. I used 1/2 can apple pie filling instead of slicing apples. It did bake for a little over an hour. It did bake to the very top of my bundt pan but it didn't go over, I also covered it the last 25 minutes with foil as others suggested. This takes a few minutes to put together but it may be one of the best things I have ever baked! It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Loved this great for a party any time, any where.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used applesauce instead of the yogurt...so delicious, it was irresistible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this as cupcakes and they turned out great. I'll definitely make these again. I only used one apple but will add a second next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States