Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This cake was wonderful--it baked up very nicely and didn't fall apart when removed from the pan. I would probably cover the "top" with foil for the last 15 min. of baking time, though, as the streusal got a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe is a 5 Star. I made it in a tube pan, bundt pan just too small. Just a couple of suggestions. First, next time I will finely dice the apples and mix into the batter and then proceed to use the steusel in layers as directed I used a combination of lowfat sourcream, yogurt and applesauce. Excellent results. Flavor of the coffeecake is also enhanced by lemon or orange zest. For appearance I made a thin frosting and drizzled on the top. Not to much, just for effect. Once you make this recipe you will keep it near by to repeat and repeat. Thanks Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is a very goos cake and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone at a recent Spring brucnh. I will warn the future bakers with a few tips: 1) This takes at least 60 minutes, if not more. I think I wound up cooking it for almost 70 minutes because the apple section seemed gummy when I first turned the cake out of the pan. I wound up putting it back in the pan (no major feat!) and putting it back in the oven after it had cooled for the 15 minutes. 2) Put a cookie sheat under the bundt pan in the oven because the batter JUST fits and you might get a tiny spill. I am sure you could also do this with muffins, but the layering in each muffin cup might take time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
AWESOME. I realized at the last minute that I didn't have any yogurt, so I substituted sour cream and a little applesauce to total 16 oz. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This was excellent! Way better than store bought. It tastes like there's apple pie filling in the middle. I used margarine because that's what I had on hand. I also used two 9x5 loaf tins because I don't have a bundt pan and baked for an hour. I found the walnuts slightly bitter so next time I'll use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This came out so good. I brought it to a party and everyone went crazy over it. I melted caramel and drizzled it over the top. I also put foil over it at the last 15 minutes just so the streusel stayed really moist. The yogurt was really good in it. I think I might try sour cream next time. But it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was fantastic. A food proccessor makes the job of making the crumb mixture extremely fast and easy. The only problem I had was I think there was too much batter. My coffee cake filled the bundt pan right to the top and then some of the filling oozed out and didn't smell to pretty on the bottom of the stove. Also, after I had mixed the flour mixture in, I realized I had only used had used 12 ounces of yogurt (2 6 oz containers...i thought they were 8 oz each). So I added a little sour cream and made sure to mix really well. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Absolutely incredible! This cake is always a winner at parties: it's very moist and sweet. I like to use Stoneyfield nonfat organic yogourt to keep calories down. Also, if the cake is left to sit for a few hours after baked, it tastes even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
THE BEST coffee cake that I've ever had. I will definitely be making it again. Because I'm nuts over apples, I will probably add a second layer next time. You owe it to yourself to make it. When it is baking, place the pan on top of a cookie sheet to protect against possible drippage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I've made this recipe several times already, and I can't believe I haven't written a review. When I don't have yogurt, I use an equal amount of sour cream without any diffference in texture or taste. I've found the best layering method for me is to first place some brown sugar/flour mixture on the batter followed by finely diced apples. I then dot the apples with chilled butter and then top the butter with more brown sugar/flour. I cover this streusel layer with batter then repeat. I always seem to have extra streusel when I follow this recipe so I usually cut the streusel ingredients to about 75% of what the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States