Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
This cake turned out great the first time I made it! The apples in the middle were soft and warm, giving the cake a great flavor. It is also a very moist cake, best if eaten while warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This cake was wonderful--it baked up very nicely and didn't fall apart when removed from the pan. I would probably cover the "top" with foil for the last 15 min. of baking time, though, as the streusal got a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
THE BEST coffee cake that I've ever had. I will definitely be making it again. Because I'm nuts over apples, I will probably add a second layer next time. You owe it to yourself to make it. When it is baking, place the pan on top of a cookie sheet to protect against possible drippage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This came out so good. I brought it to a party and everyone went crazy over it. I melted caramel and drizzled it over the top. I also put foil over it at the last 15 minutes just so the streusel stayed really moist. The yogurt was really good in it. I think I might try sour cream next time. But it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
great recipe.I used one cup of whole wheat flour and two cups of white with no taste change. I also used my apple corer to core and slice my apples to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Absolutely incredible! This cake is always a winner at parties: it's very moist and sweet. I like to use Stoneyfield nonfat organic yogourt to keep calories down. Also, if the cake is left to sit for a few hours after baked, it tastes even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This recipes was a huge hit! I sliced it up for a Sunday brunch and brought half of it - it was gone in no time! I brought the rest to work the next day and it was gone in 20 minutes! The yogurt made it moist and the apples and brown sugar gave it the right amount of sweetness. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
AWESOME. I realized at the last minute that I didn't have any yogurt, so I substituted sour cream and a little applesauce to total 16 oz. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This was excellent! Way better than store bought. It tastes like there's apple pie filling in the middle. I used margarine because that's what I had on hand. I also used two 9x5 loaf tins because I don't have a bundt pan and baked for an hour. I found the walnuts slightly bitter so next time I'll use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is a very goos cake and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone at a recent Spring brucnh. I will warn the future bakers with a few tips: 1) This takes at least 60 minutes, if not more. I think I wound up cooking it for almost 70 minutes because the apple section seemed gummy when I first turned the cake out of the pan. I wound up putting it back in the pan (no major feat!) and putting it back in the oven after it had cooled for the 15 minutes. 2) Put a cookie sheat under the bundt pan in the oven because the batter JUST fits and you might get a tiny spill. I am sure you could also do this with muffins, but the layering in each muffin cup might take time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States