Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
I have made this cake 3 times and it is without a doubt WONDERFUL !! To add an extra flavor boost I added the grated rind of a lemon to the batter and used double the apples. Rather than one layer, I made two and added apples to the top and covered with streusel. The result is absolutely magnificent!!! As other reviewers have commented, the baking time,however, should definately be increased another 10 minutes or so. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I liked the cake part of this coffee cake, but I would cut the streusel in half and probably the apples as well. It was mushy in the middle and I don't think it was undercooked, since the cake part was fine. Even when I was making it I thought there was a lot of streusel - half is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I loved this recipe! I used a large tube pan instead of a bundt pan and had no trouble with the amount of batter. I also substituted sour cream for the yogurt. I did have to increase the baking time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
usually get my dessert recipies from Bon Appetit. This was great. Made for a group of talented cooks and bakers and they all loved it. Read other reviews first and did bake for 70 mins. and it needed the cookie sheet underneath. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was fantastic. A food proccessor makes the job of making the crumb mixture extremely fast and easy. The only problem I had was I think there was too much batter. My coffee cake filled the bundt pan right to the top and then some of the filling oozed out and didn't smell to pretty on the bottom of the stove. Also, after I had mixed the flour mixture in, I realized I had only used had used 12 ounces of yogurt (2 6 oz containers...i thought they were 8 oz each). So I added a little sour cream and made sure to mix really well. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is a very goos cake and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone at a recent Spring brucnh. I will warn the future bakers with a few tips: 1) This takes at least 60 minutes, if not more. I think I wound up cooking it for almost 70 minutes because the apple section seemed gummy when I first turned the cake out of the pan. I wound up putting it back in the pan (no major feat!) and putting it back in the oven after it had cooled for the 15 minutes. 2) Put a cookie sheat under the bundt pan in the oven because the batter JUST fits and you might get a tiny spill. I am sure you could also do this with muffins, but the layering in each muffin cup might take time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This was excellent! Way better than store bought. It tastes like there's apple pie filling in the middle. I used margarine because that's what I had on hand. I also used two 9x5 loaf tins because I don't have a bundt pan and baked for an hour. I found the walnuts slightly bitter so next time I'll use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
AWESOME. I realized at the last minute that I didn't have any yogurt, so I substituted sour cream and a little applesauce to total 16 oz. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This recipes was a huge hit! I sliced it up for a Sunday brunch and brought half of it - it was gone in no time! I brought the rest to work the next day and it was gone in 20 minutes! The yogurt made it moist and the apples and brown sugar gave it the right amount of sweetness. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Absolutely incredible! This cake is always a winner at parties: it's very moist and sweet. I like to use Stoneyfield nonfat organic yogourt to keep calories down. Also, if the cake is left to sit for a few hours after baked, it tastes even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States