Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Not only was this the best coffee cake I've made, but the best I've tasted! What a wonderful recipe! I love all the streusel! Usually, I end up straying from recipes a bit, but this one's perfect just as it is. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried, but I had no trouble with getting it all to fit into my bundt, as others did. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made this for Mother's Day brunch, and it was a huge hit. My husband ate the leftover cake after everyone had gone home. A few things, though, the bundt pan was almost overflowing, and if you follow the recipe exactly, there ends up being a ton of streusal on the bottom once you flip the cake over. VERY tasty and moist though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe is a 5 Star. I made it in a tube pan, bundt pan just too small. Just a couple of suggestions. First, next time I will finely dice the apples and mix into the batter and then proceed to use the steusel in layers as directed I used a combination of lowfat sourcream, yogurt and applesauce. Excellent results. Flavor of the coffeecake is also enhanced by lemon or orange zest. For appearance I made a thin frosting and drizzled on the top. Not to much, just for effect. Once you make this recipe you will keep it near by to repeat and repeat. Thanks Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Loved it...I used chopped pecans. This also freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Really good! I made this in a tube pan and used 2 layers of apple and streusel. The batter filled the pan nicely and it didn't overflow. There was extra streusel, but since I used a tube pan, I just added the extra on top. Using a bundt pan would have left too much streusel on the bottom when it was flipped over. Mine was done in 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
good. some loved it (adults)and some thought it was just ok (kids). didn't earn 5 stars in my book. perhaps it wasn't as appealing to kids as a 9x13-less-cakey-more-sweet-stuff type of coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! I made this for work and the President got down on on his knees and bowed to me!!!! This is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Everyone at work raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Delicious coffeecake! I used this recipe to fill two 9x5 loaf pans. Like other reviewers I ended up with so much streusel topping and apples left over that I made another 1/2 recipe of cake batter and used it all to fill a third 9x5! I baked these for about 65 minutes... they needed the extra time. Definitely will make this again -everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This was pretty good! I really enjoyed it. I planned on making the cake myself, however, I ran out of time and assigned the job to my mother who was visiting us. She followed the recipe exactly and used the proper pan that it called for. But there was so much batter. She filled the pan as much as she could to allow for expansion as it baked and she still had batter left over. And even with the room she allowed for in the pan, it still overflowed as it baked. Therefore, we had a rather messy looking cake...but it tasted delish! I'll give this one another try on my own just because it did taste so good. Made the house smell great on a cold fall day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States