Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this cake this afternoon. It was relatively easy to put together. The problem is the pan size. DO NOT use a regular size Bundt pan. It is much too small. I have coffecake all over the cookiesheet I baked the cake on. I would say that I lost at least 3 pieces of cake to spill over. My kids ate the "drippings" and loved them. I wouldn't recommmend a Bundt pan at all. Go for a large square pan, to assist cooking in the middle and clean up issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Amazing!!! I used pecans instead of walnuts and also used 8oz of sour cream and 8oz of apple butter instead of the yogurt. I also made mine in 2 loaf pans and baked for about an hour and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Absolutely gorgous! Thanks for this recepie. I was looking for a traditional german recepie for blueberry streusel kuchen, as we picked wild blueberries. In germany these are made with a yeast dough but his cake looked great and had great reviews (it is also easier not to use yeast). I added 150 mls of milk to 300 mls of full fat yogurt as this was what I had. I also made the batter with half wholemeal self raising flour and half white self raising (preference), so ommitted the raising ingredients. I substituted blueberries for the apples, enough to cover the cake in a thick layer and used less sugar for the topping and added a few oats along with the nuts (approx 30 g) Just as well it is a large recepie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The only thing I would change about this recipe is to add a bit more apples and not dice them so much but rather leave them more like an apple pie filling. Hint: do not use overly ripe apples as it takes away from the actual apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very tasty. But batter was so think that it was difficult to work with -- particularly spreading the second half of the batter over the apples. Also, I prefer my coffeecake to be a bit less like cake and have more of a crumb to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
so good! Will definitely be making this again! Very moist and center was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKYD20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was OK. A little too dense and not enough flavor. I definitely would make again, but I would add more apple/streusal layers in between the dense cake. Just a little too heavy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Nice recipe! My husband loves apples, so he dove into it when it was right out of the oven. It was so good; the filling when warm tastes just like apple pie. Next time I'll make sure the filling is completely enclosed in the batter. I had some of the apple filling along the edge, and it stuck in the pan even though I had greased and floured it. This coffeecake has a great flavor. I brought it to my office and got several compliments on it. I'll definitely make this one again. I wouldn't skimp on the streusel - it's the best part, and although this recipe fills the pan completely, I had no problems with it overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I've made this recipe several times already, and I can't believe I haven't written a review. When I don't have yogurt, I use an equal amount of sour cream without any diffference in texture or taste. I've found the best layering method for me is to first place some brown sugar/flour mixture on the batter followed by finely diced apples. I then dot the apples with chilled butter and then top the butter with more brown sugar/flour. I cover this streusel layer with batter then repeat. I always seem to have extra streusel when I follow this recipe so I usually cut the streusel ingredients to about 75% of what the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States