Streusel Apple Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great cake!! I made 2 levels of apple/struesel mix. Cake part was delicious! My family loved it even my sister who was skeptical because she doesn't like apples in her baked goods usually. It did fill the pan and I baked it for 60 minutes. I under cooked it so I had to cut it into pieces and bake some more but after that it was awesome! It is hard to tell when a bunt cake is done. It felt done and the toothpick came out clean but it was not cooked all the way through so just watch that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
FYI, don't freeze the butter. That's too chilled. Just fridge-ready butter is sufficient. I've tried making crumb mixture both ways, and it's much easier to stab the pieces into crumb size with a pastry blender if the butter is cold but NOT rock-hard. I baked mine for 70 minutes, and it was the perfect amount of baking. I had to add more liquid to this recipe to make the cake part be runny enough to not worry me. (I used skim milk as my liquid, FYI, probably a half-cup, I eyeballed and added and stirred and repeated until it looked how I wanted.) I don't know if that step was necessary, but I loved the texture in the end product, so it certainly didn't hurt. The only thing I would do different is to add a pinch of salt in the streusel and 1/4 tsp of it in the cake part to liven up the flavors. Sugar without salt is a little flat, and while this cake is quite good, I do think the salt would make a significant step towards perfection; I wish I had thought to try it, but didn't realize til I tasted it that it was missing anything. This cake makes a beautiful company-worthy presentation, and is easily 5 stars in flavor (even without the salt!) Thank you for your recipe, I don't think I'm even going to share this one with DH's coworkers this time :=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this with a sour cherry and cream cheese layer instead of apples - it was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very good. Followed the recipe very closely except we added another stick of butter for the streusel. Very interesting coffeecake. We are enjoying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe is a definite keeper. Everyone who tried it came back for more. I plan on making this again just to share with coworkers. I ended up using pecans because I was out of walnuts. I was a little nervous about this spilling over. My Bundt pan was very, VERY full. I placed the pan on a large 1/2 sheet pan in the oven. Somehow it did not bake over. The streusel on the top (bottom) did get a bit crunchy, but did not burn. This only served to add texture to an already delicious cake. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
i did not care for this. After nearly 90 minutes i took it out (after putting some parchement on the top to keep it from burning.) It tasted bad and part of it still wasn't done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This one gets 4 stars because it completely fell apart on me when trying to invert the bundt pan. Also I had to change the yogurt over to 16oz sour cream (I just don't keep yogurt on hand) and I omitted the nuts (personal preference) but other than that it DID taste AMAZING!! It was perfectly moist and not the slightest bit runny. I only needed to bake it for about an hour, then I turned off the oven and let it sit for about 30-45 minutes. I will be making this again but next time I will NOT use a bundt pan, I'll just simply layer it in a 9x13 casserole dish and just cut it into squares and serve it straight out of that. I should note that I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the batter when mixing. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
WOW! I'm glad I took the time to make this fabulous coffeecake. It reminds me of the kuchen you can get in Germany. Very moist. The whole family loved it! I followed the recipe exactly--no changes, no substitutions. Well worth the little bit of time I spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was very good, although not exceptional. I used twice the apples called for as I wanted to really taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My oven is broken~I used a turkey roaster and followed the directions excact and it came out doughy and uncooked. I even put it at 375 and still. Maybe I just need an oven.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ideas44

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States