Strawnana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I made these as muffins, omitting the orange zest and nutmeg, as I wanted a pure, strawberry-banana flavor. I also left 1/2 cup of the strawberries chunky, which added some texture and color. Yum! my husband's staff loved them too...all gone by 10:00!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
It's taken a long time to find a really good muffin mix. This one made 26 medium muffins with good size caps. I just chopped the bananas and strawberries to give some great texture. I left out nutmeg, orange zest and nuts as a personal preference, and added a splash of vanilla extract. It took about 32 minutes at 350! YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This is a great recipe! To get more of the strawberry flavor that other reviewers said they couldn't taste, I put the strawberries in sliced instead of mashed. I did let the beaters whip them around a bit but the berries were still chuncky. My family thinks that it is great. I am making this a permanent resident in my recipie box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This one is a keeper. I ommited the nutmeg (wanted more of a strawberry flavor)and used lemon instead of orange zest. Total I used 1 pound strawberries and 2 bananas. I mashed one cup of the strawberries and then chopped up the rest (rolled them in flour ... and they didnt sink!). This is really really good. Moist, kinda like a poundcake. Will make again. I'm using this in a fruit trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
We loved this recipe! Left out the orange zest, but added 1 tsp vanilla & thought the flavor was terrific. Made 1 loaf & 12 regular sized muffins - muffin cook time was 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Great bread. As another reviewer suggested I added a 1 1/2 cups banana I had frozen. Also, I didn't have any oranges so I added 1/2 tsp lemon extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract. I also used 3/4 c. unsweetened strawberry apple sauce and 1/4 c. veg oil instead of 1 c. veg oil and used a little less salt. Also, I used fesh strawberries and half chopped half mashed them so there were chunks of strawberry in it. Highly recommended, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
WOW!!! I was surprised with this one. I had some bananas and strawberries I had frozen (for a long time). I thawed them out to use and wondered if it would taste ok. Well... we loved them. I made muffins and cooked for 30 mins. This recipe goes in my make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I LOVED THIS BREAD. BUT I PUT A TWIST TO IT. I DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH STRAWBERRIES SO I ADDED A FEW PEACHES TO THE BREAD, AND I DID NOT ADD ANY NUTS IN IT. IT TURNED OUT GREAT, EVERYONE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
This was a SUPER HIT with my whole family. I can't wait to try a low-fat version with applesauce in place of the oil!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This bread was good but I am not sure if it was great. I am still trying to decide if I like it! The flavors are really complex---strawberries, bananas, spice, orange zest. I used my sugar coated pecans instead of walnuts (I still have alot of those left, LOL). I guess the flavor that stands out most to me is the strawberries. And I am still undecided if I like warm strawberries...thanks for letting me try something different and helping me get rid of my over-ripe bananas, strawberries and those darned sugar coated pecan pieces!!! I am taking to school tomorrow and leaving in the workroom and I am sure it will get eaten! (: (: (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States