Strawnana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I'm going to give this recipe four stars, although right after it came out of the oven i would have voted higher. I made the recipe exactly as written besides adding a splash of vanilla extract out of habit. As the flavors mellowed together over night I found that the orange zest became too pronounced. I would suggest either cutting by half or omitting it all together. It is a bit overpowering. When I first tasted it I actually got hints of the strawberry, bananas and orange zest and it was fantastic but not so true the next day. Love the difference in the bread but will not add the orange zest next time. I baked mine in a 9 by 13 inch cake pan and it came out perfect. Will definitely keep though, so that tells you something!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was a nice, sweet bread with good flavor. It was also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Good solid recipe. Bread was nice and moist. I probably should have left the strawberries chuncky to get more strawberry flavor. I left out the orange zest and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. Also, the recipe yields a lot of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was GREAT! I did NOT mash the strawberries and I left out the orange zest and nuts. It's a great twist on regular banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is a great alternative to the standard bananna bread. The strawberries add just enough of a different flavor to make it soo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good...I used raspberries in place of the strawberries and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also used apple sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe is a favorite! My husband asks me to make it all the time! The only thing I don't add is the orange zest. I also like it better with chopped strawberries! It keeps the strong flavor and texture of the berries. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This receipe is awesome! We made many loaves - small, large, star. They turned out great - the only thing we changed was not using the nuts. I froze some and have given some to family. Thanks for a great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ortonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This one is a keeper. I ommited the nutmeg (wanted more of a strawberry flavor)and used lemon instead of orange zest. Total I used 1 pound strawberries and 2 bananas. I mashed one cup of the strawberries and then chopped up the rest (rolled them in flour ... and they didnt sink!). This is really really good. Moist, kinda like a poundcake. Will make again. I'm using this in a fruit trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I love the orange zest in this! I used Smart Balance/Butter instead of the oil and I didn't have any nuts. Very moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States