Strawnana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Baily
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Awesome! These were a big hit with the whole family! The only thing I omitted was the walnuts. I will definitely be making these again. Next time I will try substituting half the oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
yummy! This was delish although I have to say that I did change it up a bit based on my own thoughts as well as other reviews. I replaced the oil with one stick of butter. I also omitted the orange zest, added a couple splashes of vanilla, and did one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown. I had read a couple reviews that said the bread was a bit dry so I decided to add a 1/2 cup of sour cream. Once the batter was in the pans I also sprinkled it with cinnamon and sugar so it would have a sweet crunchy top. Perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is pretty good.... My bf just bought a juicer attachment for my KitchenAid. He made fresh squeezed orange juice with it this morning. I thought strawberry-banana bread would be the perfect complement (think strawberry-banana orange juice, but in a "homey," warm and spicy bread... yummy!). I was a bit disappointed (with the bread, that is...). To compensate for the dry texture some reviewer's experienced, I subbed low-fat strawberry-banana yogurt for the oil called for (also to add flavor - or so I thought...). I baked one loaf (halved the recipe) and found that it took much longer than an hour to fully bake, more like 1 hour PLUS 15-20 minutes. After 45 minutes, I covered my loaf with aluminum foil to keep it from browning further (it was just right at that point, so I'm glad I checked). I think my Pampered Chef stoneware loaf pan caused the bottom of my bread to brown more than I'd like.... Overall OK, but the flavors were not dominant enough for me to make again. I even thought the orange zest would give this a nice flavor (apparently too strong as per many reviews - not IMHO), but I barely noticed it. I REALLY noticed the spices and would have noticed the vanilla had I thought to add some. I'll have to see if the flavors improve in a day or two (I REALLY hope they do). Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I've made this twice now, loved it each time! I did leave the fruit a little chunky so the flavors were more obvious. Delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I added chocolate chips to make them like banana splitt muffins.The only thing missing is pineapple. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Durham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farah Malik
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
i tried this recipe and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farah Malik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a little disappointed. I cut the spices and orange peel and added vanilla, as some suggested. The flavors are nice, but overall a little bland. An hour was definitely too much time for the loaf (I'm trying 20 min. for the muffins right now) but the crust is still really really chewy. Maybe I should have stuck to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This one seemed to have too many dominant flavors and not enough background flavor and just didn't seem to go. Maybe with some brown sugar and butter and omitting the zest would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Oh, this bread is absolutely heavenly! I promise you'll never switch back to the ordinary banana bread after trying this! I love how I can use cooking oil (instead of butter) since I hate melting butter and also canola oil is a healthier substitute. The consistency is perfect -- very fruity, not buttery, not overly sweet. I used all whole wheat flour and substitute white sugar with brown and it still turns out perfectly. (However, I had made this with white flour and sugar before, and the bonus is, the bread will be in a very cute shade of pink from the strawberries!) Next time I'll experiment with other fruit combinations... maybe banana+mango and strawberry+kiwi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This bread was more dry than I would have preferred. Also, the strawberry taste was very, very subtle, even though I followed advice and left larger chunks. I don't plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States