Strawnana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My son made this as bread and muffins. Everything was great! He subbed wheat flour for the white, which made for a more dense bread. He omitted the nuts and the nutmeg, using more fruit instead for flavor. This is going to be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This turned out really great and it was quick to prepare! I added toasted slivered almonds to the top of the batter prior to popping it into the oven and it tasted wonderful. Very moist. A great way to use up strawberries (now that they're in season here in Southern California) and bananas (on their way out). I made 1/2 the recipe and added 1 teaspoon of real vanilla extract. A real winner. Maybe next time I'll add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianne
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made the following minor changes: used only 3/4 of the sugar, used white whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose flour, omitted walnuts, and made muffins instead of bread. The muffins came out great! Next time I probably reduce the sugar to only half the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I cut the sugar down to a cup, used half FF plain yogurt in place of some of the oil called for in this recipe. I did mash the of the strawberries with the bananas, I also added about 3/4 cup of sliced strawberries for added texture. I also added a little vanilla flavoring. My kids really liked this. I think the chunks of strawberries were a good call.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was delish! I made it exactly as written (minus nutmeg) and loved it. Next time I'll add some larger pieces of strawberry to enhance the berry flavor. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Strawberries made the bread a little soggy after the first day or so. This is a bread that needs to be eaten quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This recipe was a hit at my husband's office! I took a pound of strawberries, mashed half of it and diced the other half. I then folded the diced strawberries into the batter before pouring into the pans. The only other change I made was leaving out the orange zest. I did use the nutmeg and I'm glad I did because it smelled wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Light and fruity indeeed. A good change. I subsituted the butter with sunflower oil and omitted the nutmeg. A definite keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Maybe it was me but I don't really think so. Adding strawberries could have been too much, this recipe lacked flavor and the standard "banana bread" texture.***UPDATE**The last time I used too much fruit. I tried it again following the recipe to the letter and it was much better. I added a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This came out really good. I followed the reviews and opt out the zest and nutmeg. I used whole wheat flour & added some van. ext. I also cut the recipe in half just to make one loaf. Mmm mm quite tastey! Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States