Strawnana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This one is a keeper. I ommited the nutmeg (wanted more of a strawberry flavor)and used lemon instead of orange zest. Total I used 1 pound strawberries and 2 bananas. I mashed one cup of the strawberries and then chopped up the rest (rolled them in flour ... and they didnt sink!). This is really really good. Moist, kinda like a poundcake. Will make again. I'm using this in a fruit trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I love the orange zest in this! I used Smart Balance/Butter instead of the oil and I didn't have any nuts. Very moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Love it. Emily the 7 1/2 year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Made this last night and had some for breakfast this morning. It was very tasty and moist. I had only one banana so I halved the recipe to use 1/2 C mashed banana. The only other change was to reduce the sugar to 3/4 C for the one loaf. The banana flavor dominated the strawberry flavor, so I will only use this as a variation on banana bread, but we still liked the bread very much and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Awesome. I used pecans because that is what I had and made them into muffins. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Very good. I did omit the orange zest and added a bit of vanilla. I also coursly chopped fresh strawberries and bananas rather than mashing them for better texture. Made 22 muffins at 32 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The bread was just ok. It was moist and had good texture but I wasn't a big fan of the flavor combination. I felt like both the strawberry and banana were lost to each other and the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made 1 loaf and 12 muffins. The loaf was good, although a little dry - I'll use more strawberries next time. The muffins were worthless - super dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Good recipe and a nice change from plain banana bread. With that said, I prefer a plain banana bread to this. I didn't mash the berries to mush, I left some texture to them by not using a mixer but mixing it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I was very disappointed in this bread. The flavors were not very strong & it was too sweet. I mostly tasted the orange peel rather than bananas or strawberries. It was very moist, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States