Strawberry/Rhubarb Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I added extra cornstarch to the filling, and still found it a bit runny, not in a bad way, just in a warm-filling-mixes-with-melty-ice-cream delicious way! Overall, great flavor, and looks delicious - got RAVE reviews from coworkers. Next time I'll add more rhubarb, and hopefully that will cut down on some of the oozing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBearFletcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have gotten so many compliments and requests for this pie. Everyone raves about it. The only change I make is that I cook it about 20 minutes or so longer than the recipe calls for. As long as the crust isn't getting too browned, this helps the filling thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Super delicious and very easy to make. I made my own pie shell and followed the recommendations of other reviewers: added 1 tsp cornstarch, used only 3/4 cup sugar in the filling, only 6 tbsp butter in topping. Also added some fresh nutmeg and a little salt in the topping, because I used unsalted butter. Was really tasty! Big hit with our company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
THis is one of the bes things I have EVER made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This recipe turned into a soggy, soupy mess. Flavor was good, but sweet. My recommendation would be reduce the sugar to 2/3 cup. And either cook the filling before putting it in the pie shell until the liquid was reduced by half, or adding some ground tapioca powder 1-2 Tbsp before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this pie for my husbands birthday and it was really good! Very fresh. Great for summer. I cut the sugar in half and added a little corn starch like the other reviews said. I also added a little cinnamon to the topping. It turned out great and was really easy to make! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Wonderful taste! It wound up a bit wet and gummed up the crust on the bottom, but the flavor was right on. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Amazingly delicious! I did the same as many others - homemade crust and I added a little cornstarch to the filling. It tasted almost like a "Strawberries and Cream" pie. Our family had eaten the entire pie in one day which is amazing. The last time I made an apple pie it sat on the counter for days until it had to be thrown out have eaten. This pie certainly didn't last in our house! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Made this for Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Day 2012, and it was a HUGE hit. Thanks for a fantastic recipe...making it again due to popular demand for upcoming Father's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States