Strawberry Yogurt Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I usually won't make anything that does not have a 5-star rating, much less something that hasn't even been rated yet, but I decided to try these because they looked interesting. These scones are good, with a great scone texture. I was all out of butter, so I used 1/8 cup of I Can't Believe it's not Butter and 1/8 cup of Crisco. I also only had the thick and creamy Yoplait yogurt. None of this seemed to have a bad effect. I was hoping for a more strawberry tasting scone, but it could have been the yogurt. Also, the dough was really strange and difficult to deal with and I only got 11 biscuits with the dough 1/2 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I really liked these... you could only taste the strawberry yogurt slightly- it wasn't too overpowering but it was definitely there. Not amazing good still very good and very simple (great if you didn't have any eggs like me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened but these scones came out like hard, dry, bisquits. The batter was impossibly crumbly and the flavor was very bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
We were disappointed in these scones. They were rather blah. I used more yogurt because the dough was so dry and I sprinkled a little sugar on top but even that didn't help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
They didn't have much flavor, so they ended up really being more like biscuits. They were still good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I really like this scone recipe (and I have tried quite a few scone recipes). I have used strawberry yogurt and raspberry yogurt, and my family has decided they like the raspberry better. Some others have mentioned dryness. What I do is start with a cup and 1/4 of flour, then add the yogurt and I add the milk to the mix, also. If I need more flour, I add just a little until there is a workable dough. Scones shouldn't be overworked, though, so I pat the dough instead of kneading it, then use a biscuit cutter to make my shapes. Thanks for the great recipe! PS I do reduce bkg pdwr to 2 tsps., four seems a little much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These had a very nasty yet bland taste. There was not even a "hint" of the strawberry yogurt taste. I was rather disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Not bad, but could be made better. I suggest using only 2 and a half teaspoons of baking powder (the suggested 4 makes it taste acrid!) Use only thick, good quality yoghurt - Greek style is best. Add a couple of tablespoons of honey too. For fan ovens, 190 Celsius is a much better cooking temperature, or they will burn. More cakey than scone-like texture, but could be amazing with these tweaks to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I too was disappointed with this recipe. I was excited because it sounded easy and quick. However, they turned out more like biscuits and the strawberry flavor was very faint. We used the leftovers to make a strawberry shortcake of sorts and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Altus Afb, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
kind of blah tasting. better if you top them with sugar before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States