Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I used fresh strawberries rather than frozen. I used both 3 oz packages of jello and added just a few tablespoons of water to dissolve the sugar a bit. The cake took about 10 minutes longer to bake for me, as others commented. I immediately inverted it onto a dish and just left it for about 30 minutes or so. When I checked it, the cake had all very nicely transferred and I was only left to scrape off some of the yummy topping and put it back on top. It's not the prettiest cake, so don't make it for the "wow" factor. But if you're mainly concerned with the taste?... YUM!A little Cool Whip topped it off beautifully.I will make it again and share the recipe with everyone who tasted it at the party I made it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
don't use strawberries frozen with sugar made the cake to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dark Topaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This recipe would make an interesting science project if you can explain the science involved in the marshmallows and strawberries passing by each other as they pass through the baking cake and all three end up unchanged by the others. Amazing! If I were to ever make this cake again, I would definitely use 3 oz of jello instead of 6. My strawberry topping (made with three cups sliced fresh strawberries) is a sticky, jellowy mess. You can't taste the strawberries. The marshmallows are good but remain in your mouth for chewing after the cake and strawberries have already been swallowed. The cake itself came out well in spite of all the activity while it was baking. I was hoping for something unique, but this cake doesn't do it. I had to bake longer than box instructions called for, which is why the strawberries were overcooked and the marshmallows are so chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is yellow box cake with strawberries on top, Besides being very moist, it was really no different than making a box cake and throwing strawberries on top. With the marshmallows, fresh strawberries and gelatin ingredients, I was expecting the fruit layer to be something a little more special. Turns out I was pretty unimpressed, as it seems was my family, since almost the entire cake wast still on the table at the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made it exactly as stated and my family loved it. I did have to cook it about 10 minutes longer but that could be due to my old oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Our favorite cake to use fresh OR frozen strawberries. Followed directions and quantities per recipe and the cake turned out perfect!! Made cake many times have even substituted applesauce in the cake mix and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I thought it was important to share how easily adaptable this recipe is. I thought this recipe sounded really good, but wasn't sure if I had the exact items on hand. I didn't, but here's how I made the cake - it's kind of funny. I didn't have frozen strawberries, but instead used a combo bag of raspberries, blueberries and strawberries. I only had raspberry jello and yellow cake instead of white box cake. I didn't have mini marshmallows, but cut-up larger ones to cover the bottom of the pan. The cake was delicious! How do those marshmallows get to the top of the cake? Don't be afraid to make this one with a few changes. Experiment a little, you may just discover something amazing. I will definately be making this one again. Maybe next time I will try using the ingredients listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancywelsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chisholm, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Kimmee
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Awesome and easy. Followed the directions exactly for the first time I made this recipe and it turned out GREAT. The box said to bake the cake for 35-40 minutes for a 13x9 page, not the 25 minutes listed here. Follow the direction on the cake mix box and this will turn out! I can't wait to try this with blueberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for my Aunt Louise. It was sooooooo delicious. The only I changed was I included a full 2 lb. package of fresh strawberries. Yummy and got rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I made this cake this past weekend, and it was delicious. And the aroma that fills your home when baking this is worth baking this for alone! It was not any sweeter than a regular strawberry shortcake dessert is, and the adults as well as the kids loved it. I used frozen strawberries, and 1 3 oz strawberry jello, and 1 3 oz raspberry jello, I also used a Aldi's brand yellow cake mix ( this was unbelievably similar to a sponge cake, that is why I mention the Aldi's name) Don't be turned off by others reviews of it being too sweet, just think strawberry shortcake, only prettier, and easier, and you get the bonus of the yummy aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States