Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was so elegant and easy to follow. I put my strawberries in the center with fresh mint leaves as accent. I made mine a day in advance. It tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Definetly a 5*! Made it exactally how it said. I put just a little whip (from a can) around my strawberries on top..dont do it because it melts & screws up the prettiness. I impressed everyone at a family gathering with this. It tastes sooo good also. thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosannaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I modified the recipe. Modifications: -I used 2 packages of cream cheese, with the sugar, vanilla extract and 1 container (1 L) of cool whip (thawed). -I did not make the strawberry sauce. Instead, I used my homemade strawberry freezer jam and fresh sliced strawberries. It turned out delicous!!! Can someone please explain how the ladyfingers stand around the pan? I always have a hard time making them hold before pouring in the mixture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
So good. The reviews don't lie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucie Michaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I have never posted on here just had to with this dessert I made it for Fathers Day and it lasted 5 seconds my daughter LOVED it. Thank you for such a great dessert. I followed the filling exactly and made a brownie shell for it and crumbled brownie pieces with fresh strawberries in the center. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is a great quick and easy recipe that looks and tastes like it came from a gormet shop. It's not overly sweet and it's light and airy which is perfect for summer or after dinner. I will definitely be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Amazingly good! I made two tortes: one with Italian ladyfingers, which extended well over the rim of the pan - good and pretty but the best results were with the small ladyfinger I found in a 3oz package. As someone else mentioned, these are very easy to layer because they are soft, and come attached in 5 cookies which can easily mold around the pan (I used 3 of these packages). I use 1 lb of fresh strawberries, leaving 5 for decoration, and cooking the rest with 4T of sugar until soft.I took 4T of the liquid and mix with 2T of Grand Marnier, and added the juice to the middle layer of ladyfingers.I took the strawberry sauce from the heat and added 1T of cornstarch dissolved in 2T of water (very important) and let cool and thickened. I continued with the torte by adding a thin layer of straberry sauce to the middle layer of ladyfingers annd continue with the cream cheese mixture, then topped with the rest of the strawberry sauce. I slices the fresh strawberries and place them on top of the sauc with the points (top of the slices) facing the middle, and it looked very professional and pretty. Absolutely wonderful, and I got many requests for the recipe - all gone in 60 seconds!! The one with the Italian ladyfingers was not as good on the outside and I had to do what another reviewer suggested- place some cream to the bottom in order to stand the cookies since these ones refused to stay put! My daughter ate it all in one day anyway, and since she had not tried the other one, sh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shakinmaibooty
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Delicious! I used Alessi Ladyfingers Biscotti for a different texture. Instead of laying ladyfingers in the middle, I chopped up lemon cupcakes I had and used that instead. What a fantastic strawberry dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shakinmaibooty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
AMAZING!! The one thing I did was to cut the ladyfingers in half to make the outside of the tort - i loved the way the ladyfingers tasted after they had soaked in the cream mixture, and I thought the crunchy parts that were too tall to get soaked didn't go well with this soft torte (and also tend to make it look like a fortress...). I've also used light cream instead of heavy, and the presentation isn't as good (because it doesn't get quite as stiff) but I actually thought it tasted lighter and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this for mother's day (for my in-law and my mom) and it was a huge hit. It was light enough to eat after a heavy meal, too. One thing I did different, the strawberries I bought were not in juice, so I chopped them in my mini-chopper, put them in a pot with a little bit of water and a sprinkle of sugar, and brought to a boil. I pureed the mix in a blender and stuck it in the fridge to cool. When i put the filling on top of the ladyfingers I also added a thin layer of this mixture, then more ladyfingers (they soaked up the juice and were exquisite). I sliced strawberries and filled the gap (my ladyfingers were too tall) on the top of the torte. Thanks for an awesome recipe! I will submit a photo. It really was a big hit, and I would make it again. It reminds me of strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States