Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Easy and quick to make, beautiful when finished, and tastes fantastic! This is the perfect party pleaser. I love fast recipes and I have this one down to ten minutes flat, start to finish. I don't do the cornstarch because it takes more time -- I just cut up strawberries and spiral them on the top to make a lovely design. It tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I can not seem to find any Ladyfingers anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I whipped this up in 25 minutes and it was so tasty and BEAUTIFUL. Everyone talked about this dessert the whole night. Thanks so much for sharing this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I really enjoyed this a lot and as many have, I have modified it after my first try. I have made this several times since as everyone requests it! My changes: I get 2 lbs of fresh strawberries and pull out the prettiest ones to put all across the top. The rest I slice and add with the frozen berries and juice to make into the sauce, doubling the cornstarch. This gives me considerably more sauce to spread in the layers and that gives it all that much more strawberry flavor! It is so beautiful and to make it even easier to make I layer the entire thing into a trifle dish. Love it, thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is really good. I usually use the soft ladyfingers if I can find them instead of the hard ones. I also usually just use a can of strawberry pie filling for the topping instead of using the frozen kind. Also great with blueberry or peach pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Pretty and very tasty. I could have left in the fridge for 48hrs. rather than 24 hrs., the cookies were crunchy and hard to cut. Didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Mound, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shell Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Simple, quick and delicious! Great to make with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This recipe was so delicious! I made this cake for my brothers birthday in the summer and everyone LOVED it! Instead of using ladyfingers i used vienna fingers because i couldn't find ladyfingers anywhere near me. My strawberry sauce came out not as good as i wanted but it was my first time trying, so it was good. I used the strained strawberries and put it between the layers as filling, my brother loved that idea. On top i arranged new strawberries(halves). Overall, everyone enjoyed this cake. I will make this again, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I tried to make this as a dessert for a BBQ and it turned out bad. I mean it tasted good, but the presentation was horrible. it slid all over the place and started ozzing the minute I took off the springform pan. Alas, practice will make perfect but I will definitely be doing it another way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
What a disappointment!! After reading all the 5-star reviews, I was quite eager to try this recipe. It definitely did not live up to the ratings. There is not enough moisture in the cream cheese mixture to soften the cookie layer in the middle, so it can't be sliced. The filling is bland and is only sufficient to reach about 2/3 of the way up the surrounding biscuits (even with an 8" pan), so it looks like a souffle that flopped. The lack of flavour is certainly not offset by the mushy berries on the top. The glaze can't possibly become shiny without the addition of sugar and becomes a sticky waxy-looking mess that covers the top. I went on faith by the instructions, suspecting that it wouldn't result in the delicious-looking dessert in the pictures (and how could it without any fresh strawberries required in the recipe??) I made this to bring to a friend's house but was too embarassed to take it along. Next time I'll be more careful to read between the lines in the reviews - when so many of them say "I changed the recipe by...", this should be interpreted as "This recipe cannot be used successfully as it is written." The five-star ratings are, in truth, evaluations of other recipes altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States