Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I bought 4 packages of ladyfingers with 3oz. each 12 oz. altogether and it was enough for the pan. Which is good because they are not cheap, 1.79 a package. Thought it was an expensive dessert to make and was only "good" at best. Directions could be a little more detailed as I didn't know if I was supposed to seperate the ladyfingers or not. Judging from the fact that they seperated around the outside I guess I should have. I think the review from the person who added strawberry to the center is right on, it needs it and the 16oz package is not enough, although the Ladyfingers and the filling according to the recipe are too much for a springform pan. Don't think I'll spend the money on this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beach Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is so easy and so looks impressive. I made it for my mother in law and the whole family asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Amazing! My only suggestion is for the topping. Use 2 pounds of fresh/frozen strawberry's, mush down in pan with potato masher and add 1 cup of sugar. In a separate bowl add 1 cup of water and 3 tablespoons of corn starch (MIX WELL) gradually add to strawberry mixture and thicken. Once thick enough let cool. Add to top of torte and believe me it makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Angulo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Franklin, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was fabulous! I made just a few changes though, I used 1/2 cup of sugar in the cream mixture and used fresh strawberries. It looks and tastes great - I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always quite a hit! I do add a layer of strawberry sauce and lady fingers in the center to add a little more texture to the finished cake. I just swirl strawberry sauce (made from fresh strawberries, cooked with sugar and cornstarch) on the top, add some fresh strawberries for garnish.....viola, beautifl tied up with a pretty ribbon as pictured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kym76
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Easy to make and delicious. I used fresh berries, for slices in the middle layer, and for the puree on top. I didn't need cornstarch to thicken up the puree but did add a little sugar when I heated it. Excellent recipe and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thurmont, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I just took this to an Easter dinner, and it was a success! Just the right consistency and mixture of flavors. Not too tangy, not too sweet, really delightful! Since the grocery store informed me they did not carry the ladyfingers, I made them myself the night before using a recipe from this site. It wasn't hard, and they turned out great. I loved this torte, and would make it again in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a spectacular dessert if made properly. Some of the bad reviews people have written are not the fault of the recipe,but the person trying to make it. Ladyfingers are soft,sponge cake like cookies,and that is what this recipe calls for. It does not call for any kind of hard cookie whatsoever. Also,the strawberry topping turns out fine if you use whole frozen strawberries with a little sugar added with a touch of water. Bring this to a boil,and then mash them with a potato masher. After that,make a cornstarch slurry to thicken it up,and add a little red food color if you like to make it bright red. This recipe is easy,and delicious,and has become a staple in my family for springtime and summer holidays/get-togethers. Thanks for posting it. A couple more things,I cut the vanilla in half,and add about a teaspoon of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture. Also,make sure to whip the cream cheese mixture well(definitely use a stand mixer if you have one),and then gently fold in the whipped cream. Your dessert will be lighter and fluffier that way,and will definitely make enough to fit into a 9 inch pan(I use a 10 inch pan for this dessert and it is filled to the top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I made it for my mother-in-law's birthday, 12 adults and 3 kids in attendance. Every single person LOVED this. The only problem was there was only enough for everyone to have one piece!! I made a graham crumb bottom because I didn't have enough ladyfingers to do the whole bottom and sides. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
NOTE: 1 pint of whip cream is not enough to do a 9" pan. Need more. I Layered top 1" with sweetened whip cream and then decorated with sliced & whole strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States