Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this along with some other desserts for Easter. I'm not a cheesecake fan so I didn't have any. It did get rave reviews, and there wasn't much left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made this for Easter and everyone wanted the recipe. A couple of notes...lady finger are really light. I bought 2 (3oz) packages of them. I can't imagine how big a 12 oz package would be! That was plenty for the crust and sides. I skipped the ladyfingers in the middle and instead added some of the strawberry sauce to the middle. I added a little sugar to my strawberry sauce and 2 tbl cornstarch but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is a very pretty looking dessert but I would say simple strawberry shortcake is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Quite possibly the best dessert I have ever made (and I have made thousands). Creamy, fresh, light, and just the right amount of sweetness. I subbed low fat coolwhip for the whipped cream and used 8 oz of regular cream cheese and 3 oz of the reduced fat. This was in an attempt to keep the fat content down. The flavor wasn't compromised at all! Per others suggestions I cooked down the strawberries with 1/3 cup of sugar and cornstarch and then partially pureed in the blender. The result was a strawberry sauce that was awesome. I actually made a double batch of this to freeze and serve later with strawberry shortcake. I layered the lady fingers, then cc mix, then strawberry sauce, and repeated. I topped with some sliced fresh strawberries for presentation. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T Lynn
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
What a fabulous recipe! I've been waiting to try it because it looked really hard but it wasn't at all. I finally decided to do it for easter this year. I made two of these. Used chocolate ladyfingers on one and regular on the other. I added about 4 Tbsp kahlua with the vanilla for the chocolate one and I added about 4 Tbsp of Chambord liqueur to the other one. I don't think I would use Kahlua again because it was too strong but the Chambord tasted amazing! Maybe I'd try Bailey's next time? I topped them with whole strawberries and drizzled melted chocolate over the chocolate one. Everyone raved about the presentation and the taste! The only hard part is getting the ladyfingers to stand up in the pan. It's tricky but worth it for presentation! I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions regarding the strawberry layer... put it above the second ladyfinger layer and put the strawberries in the pan with the juice & cornstarch. Next time I think I'd try a layer of sliced fresh strawberries in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I also cheated and folded in store bought whipped cream. Instead of making the sauce, I melted down seedless strawberry preserves and drizzled it on the berries which were fresh, not frozen. I tweaked this a bit, by using my cheats, but OMG is this thing delicious! It's like strawberry shortcake collides with strawberry cheescake...decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I put the strawberries, juice and cornstarch in saucepan and cooked as directed. It was thick when it cooled. The cake is beautiful and everyone loved it and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Made this and won top prize in our local Incredible Edibles contest in the Sweet Treats category. This pretty dessert tastes as good as it looks! I found it needs 2 tablespoons of cornstarch to prevent the topping from being too runny. Otherwise, don't change a thing! It's a winner! (I won a $300 watch with this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I have to give this 5 stars because I made this for my husband's birthday party, and everyone said wow when they saw it, simply because it's a beautiful cake, but it became double wow when they ate it. I cut the sugar to half a cup but added a little homemade strawberry jam mid layer to enhance the strawberriness. I also made the topping with fresh strawberries and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
So easy, yet so elegant... I made it last summer for a bbq and received so many compliments :) It's great after a heavy meal- so light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States