Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I had to change this slightly, but only by using a sauce of fresh berries, and home made ladyfingers. This is really delicious, and I do recommend letting this set for 24 hours before you serve - for consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cute Brunettes
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Ok. We (my sis and I) made this recipe with a little variation and it came out great. We put all the frozen strawberries, corn starch and a little powdered sugar in the sauce pan and heated it through and then put the sauce in the fridge to cool a bit. We arranged the ladyfingers on the sides and the bottom of the pan and poured a mixture of the cream, followed by a layer of strawberry sauce, another layer of ladyfingers, cream and strawberry sauce. We arranged some fresh whole strawberries on top and piped some of the reserved cream mixture in the center. It came out so pretty and we were so proud that we took a pic and uploaded it here. =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I laugh when I read how people give negative reviews to a recipe that they completely changed. I made this just as the recipe said and it was not only beautiful it was perfectly perfect tasting. Just follow the recipe, you will be so happy you did. And it is EASY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this cake last night as a test run. Well, it looked awful, but I hear it tasted good. I'm glad I did the test run because I was going to bring this to Mother's Day gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
A huge hit! **Note: A pkg of ladyfingers is only 3oz...I think the recipe means 2 pkgs of 12 ladyfingers (not 12 oz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The torte filling was amazing! Layered with fresh strawberries in the middle. Also added a little sugar to the frozen strawberries when I reduced them for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very easy and very tasty! I made a few changes, I used the Ladyfingers recipe from this site and made my own lady fingers the day before, I also piped out 2 big 7inch circles using the ladyfingers recipe, I like to do that instead of laying ladyfingers on the bottom and middle. I also put the strawberries in a pot with 3/4c of sugar, once the sugar was dissolved I added a couple of tablespoons of the sauce into the cornstarch and than mixed the cornstrach back into the sauce. That makes the sauce thicken without getting any cornstarch lumps. Than I blended the sauce and cooled off in the freezer for about 15 minutes. I also used 1/2c of sugar in with the cream cheese, I changed that since I had added sugar to the strawberries. After pouring 1/2 the filling into the pan on top of one of the ladyfinger circles I poured about 3/4c of sauce than placed the other circle on top of that. Than the other 1/2 of the filling and topped with some big drops of the strawberry sauce that I swirled into the cheese mixture. I fanned out some strwberries and dipped them into a simple syrup to make them shiny and placed them on top of the cake. I had left over filling and sauce, I used a 8inch springform pan. Everyone loved it, it wasn't overly sweet, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Absolutely AMAZING!!! So easy to make and looks so elegant. I brought this to Easter Brunch and everyone thought I bought it at a bakery. People were standing in line to get a slice. This cake is so light and fluffy. The key is mixing the heavy whipping cream to stiff peaks then folding it into the cream cheese. Instead of 2 tsp vanilla I use 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract. If you plan to add strawberries to the top you must use fresh strawberries NOT the frozen ones. The frozen strawberries are too soggy. They work but they do not look as good and the mushy texture is weird. Trust me, you will thank me later. I used a 10" spring form pan and added 1/2 the cooked down starwberries between the 2 layers and other 1/2 on top. Looks appealing when you slice the cake and adds extra flavor. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Have made this a number of times. It definately has a WOW factor! Everyone loves it and it is so impressive. Made for Easter as the only dessert and it did not disappoint. The only change I made was to add some lemon zest to the filling and some fresh sliced berries in the middle, on top of the ladyfinger layer. I also used 2 1/2 packages of 3 oz. ladyfingers.Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States