Strawberry Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I loved this recipe!I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is super simple and very tasty. Took it to a work "pig-out" and everyone loved it. I did add a 1/2 tpc of almond extract. Also couln't find 12 oz packages of lady fingers so had to substitute 3 oz ones and used 3 pkgs. worked out perfectly. Also used fresh berries for the top and used the frozen as the sauce. Layered some sauce in the middle and on top then covered w/fresh berries. Well worth the little time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This dessert is easy, looks amazing and tastes great. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I cannot stand using frozen strawberries for garnish!!! PLEASE, do yourself a favor and garnish this with fresh strawberries. So you don't waste the frozen strawberries, cook them with the glaze and increase the cornstarch to 1 1/2 Tbs. Another reviewer mashed the strawberries before cooking, but that is not necessary. The strawberries will break apart during cooking. The result is a glaze with strawberry pieces throughout giving it texture (if you are looking for a smooth glaze, this is not for you). If you use unsweetened frozen strawberries, I suggest you add sugar to the glaze during cooking. With these modifications, this is definately a 5 star dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was so good! I only refrigerated for 2 hours because I didn't read all the other reviews that typically chilled overnight - but it was still great! I will definitely make again - it looks so professional too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I did make some changes as per previous reviews. I cooked down the frozen strawberries with the cornstarch for a few minutes until heated, then stirred in 1/4 cup of the total sugar measurement. I let that cool to room temp then pureed and strained the juice out, reserving the pulp. In the cream cheese mixture I added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I layered as follows: Lady Fingers (my packages were 3 oz each, I used 2 1/2 packages), cream cheese mixture, strawberry pulp, ladyfingers, cream cheese mix, strawberry sauce. Topped with leftover cream cheese mix piped onto the top. I did have strawberry sauce and cream cheese mixture leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have used this very recipe for years now, and it NEVER fails to wow whatever crowd you serve it to! It looks and tastes like something you would find at a fine restaurant, but is one of the easiest desserts I have ever made. The only variation I have ever employed is using gingersnap-like gourmet cookies instead of ladyfingers. In my opinion, it is better that way, and that's how I'll always make it. Definitely don't pass this one up though...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara
Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Wonderful! Very light and delicious...I did however make my own strawberry sauce with diced strawberries. Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this for our family Christmas, and it was a hit! Very easy to make and it does look impressive. Not to mention, it tasted wonderful; light and refreshing. Just a note about the lady fingers - the recipe calls for so many ounces of lady fingers, if I recall. The lady fingers I bought were much lighter in weight! I used 3 packages... if I had followed the recipe, I would have had to buy 7 packages!!! So that was a little confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Excellent. I made this for my husband's B'Day. He liked it so much. normally we don't like cream, So I added mashed strawberries to the cream. It tasted yummy. I will surely make it again(my husband & daughter already told that i should make it for this weekend)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Fabulous - I served this for Christmas and everyone loved it! I thawed whole strawberries and then cooked them down with 1/4 cup sugar. I pureed them then strained the puree to remove the seeds, folded about half of it into the cream cheese mixture. Spread the remaining puree on top of the torte, added a few chocolate shavings on top and voila - a beautiful dessert. I bought soft ladyfingers that are not separated, come four groups of six to a package and lined the sides of the pan. Since they are not separated, they stay in place easily. I used 1 package for the sides and made the ladyfinger recipe from this site for the base and middle layer. I spread the batter out on the baking sheet and cut two circles when it was done. This keeps the torte pieces neat looking when cut. Maybe I'll dip the top of the ladyfingers in melted chocolate next time. No matter what, I'll make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States