Strawberry Tiramisu for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
The result is very good but only if you make an adjustment. The recipe calls for one pint of strawberries then has you puree 2 cups (the whole pint)and still have strawberries left over to put between layers. Instead, puree one cup of strawberries and use the remaining cup to put between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Delicious and genuine taste. A little too much of the marscapone mixture for me- I would have cut amount by 1/2 to 2/3, and only layered it with two layers of the lady fingers. Also, like everyone else pointed out, you need about 3/2 as much strawberries, for the slice layer and top. The larger pieces make for nice texture- glad I read reviews. The espresso added a lovely flavor to the fingers. Only thing I would now have added would be to put some nice large shavings of dark chocolate on top in addition to cocoa powder. For added wow- a few twirls of edible gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoshgollyMissMolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this for Valentine's Day dinner as suggested by the Allrecipes Newsletter. Even though the recipe can be hard to follow, I enjoyed it very much. The flavor was amazing and the presentation alone looks beautiful. There may be a problem with the number of strawberries called for in the puree, but still having enough remaining for the layering / garnish. I recommend setting aside 5 or 6 strawberries to use in the layering / garnish and using the rest for the puree. I highly recommend this recipe and look forward to making it for guests in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Well this is the most amazing tiramisu recipe ever. I cannot BELIEVE not that many people have tried it. This will now be the dessert for every birthday/special occasion. It is not too sweet, and the whole recipe just tastes fantastic - the strawberries really lighten up the dish. FYI, 1/3 cup espresso is a little less than 2 shots at Starbucks - I like to apply it with a brush to the lady fingers. My brother is impatiently awaiting HIS birthday now....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I made this for a dinner guest and everyone was basically licking their plates. I did double the recipe, and it was enough for 4 people with leftovers. Not to sweet and very light and refreshing, nice change....even my kids liked it a couple days later as leftover dessert. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because I deviated slightly from the original recipe. I used an entire quart of strawberries, instead of a pint. Also, after each layer of mascarpone mixture, I put a layer of the strawberry puree and then a layer of sliced strawberries. I finished it off as stated in the recipe with the whipped cream and sliced strawberries. For a finishing touch, I melted some semi-sweet chocolate, added a little bit if almond extract, and drizzled the warm chocolate over the tops of the dessert. Delish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I don't know if it's just me, but I found the directions hard to follow. I ended up using all the sliced strawberries in the puree instead of saving 1/2 of them for the layers because '2 cups' for me meant all the sliced strawberries. So I layered puree in the middle and it still tasted good that way. Overall a good recipe and I'll probably use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
I was not sure how this would turn out, with strawberries. I was stuck on the more classic variation of this dessert. I am sure glad I made this, and my hubby loved it as well. He ate the whole piece, without even a word. In my house, that means it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEVIEC
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This is a quick and easy recipe that was very well received... I used Chouffe liquer (Distilled Belgian Beer and coffee liquer)which worked well as it is not as sweet as other brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: ???, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Thought this was so so. I couldn't get my husband or his brother to eat it. I had worked so hard making it that I ate it by myself. (well... not the whole thing!) I like the classic tiramisu much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States