Strawberry Tiramisu for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kimquat4
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Tiramisu is my favorite dessert and I loved this variation. It definitely made more than enough for two (but I don't mind!) I accidentally used regular sugar for the filling, but it turned out fine. This was also my first time making my own whipped cream, and it was easy and delicious. I didn't have enough strawberries to make the puree, but it was fine without it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Wee didn't enjoy this at all! There was way too much of the cream spread, i only used about half of it. And the strawberry puree was not sweet enough, so it was blah. Just overall kinda soso. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I need help! when mix the mascarpone, sugar, cream, and liquor, the creme comes out bumpy (curdling?) and not smooth at all. i experimented and i think the mascarpone is the problem...is it too cold or too warm or anything of that sort? does anyone know what the problem might be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made it for four and it went down a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I made this for dinner last night for my boyfriend and his brother. They loved it. Personally I like regular tiramisu slightly better, but they gave it 5 stars so I'm leaving it as is. The recipe is confusing, and for personal taste I added extra booze (kahlua) and dunked the ladyfingers in the expresso mixture as opposed to brushing it. This way they went nice and soft. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
The picture does not do this one justice! It was so good, we had it for a special occasion, and now everyone keeps asking if we can make-up new occasions. Make sure to use espresso (from your favorite coffee house) and not the espresso drinks from the grocery store, because they have milk in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Awsome Recipe, I did find it rather expensive to make, so it'll be a once in awhile treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
We weren't big fans. It reminded me more of strawberry shortcake than tiramisu. I think the strawberry overpowered the espresso flavor. I'll be sticking to regular tiramisu from now on. I also wouldn't recommend pureeing an entire pint as suggested in the original recipe. I had way too much puree and no desire to use it in anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I've never had strawberries in my tiramusu before, but they are the perfect compliment! The only thing I will change in the future is to add champagne to the mascarpone cheese filling (had it in a restaurant and loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because I deviated slightly from the original recipe. I used an entire quart of strawberries, instead of a pint. Also, after each layer of mascarpone mixture, I put a layer of the strawberry puree and then a layer of sliced strawberries. I finished it off as stated in the recipe with the whipped cream and sliced strawberries. For a finishing touch, I melted some semi-sweet chocolate, added a little bit if almond extract, and drizzled the warm chocolate over the tops of the dessert. Delish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States