Strawberry Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
delicious! i used 1/2 the sugar because my berries were very sweet and I boiled it for 15 min because I like thicker syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadaFun
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Know your berries! I used slightly overripe Strawberries at the peak of their season = very sweet. Therefore I only used half the sugar and it was the perfect sweetness (and I have a mouth full of sweet-teeth!). I suppose with frozen or off-season berries, the higher amount of sugar might be necessary. I LOVE THIS!! Very simple. I boiled and cooked the strawberries as listed, however I used 1/2 cup water, and 1/2 cup sugar. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added 1Tbsp cornstarch whisked with 1/4cup water and added that the last 2 minutes of cooking to thicken it up. For a nicer presentation, I only sliced the berries in half, rather than mash or puree. Absolutely beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Delicious flavor. Thought a bit too sweet though, next time will try 3/4 cup sugar. Also, I did use 3/4 cup water at first and then mixed 1 t cornstarch with remaining 1/4 cup water and added at end. Next time will try 1 1/2 tsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
good. Kind of runny but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made ths recipe exactly with the exception of the strwberries, I used frozen (thawed) strawberries and mashed them up. It was WAY too thin so I added 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch (mixed with a small amount of cold water) and it thickened up great. This syrup is better when cooled so it is able to thicken to the right consistency, I made a double batch of it and canned the leftovers. It was delicious served over my whole-wheat pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Super, super yummy. I did as another reader suggested and reserved 1/4 cup water and mixed it with 1 tsp cornstarch and added it at the last minute to make it a bit thicker. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOstler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
So good! Just made this to go on waffles. Very good! I didn't have a lot of strawberries so it was a bit runny but still tasted amazing! :) Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Throop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Fast. Easy. Yummm. The only change I made was to add a little extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Wonderful! Easy to make and my whole family LOVED it. Thanks for this recipe...I'll try it with different berries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING !!! i put in half a cup of water and a full cup of sugar and cooked it longer so it was thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Pacheco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States