Strawberry Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I love this! I followed other people's suggestions and just halved the sugar. I figured I could always add more sugar if I didn't think it was sweet enough. But at half a cup it tasted sweet enough. The kids gobbled it up on waffles. I also set aside 1/4 cup of water and added some corn starch so the syrup would come out thicker. I added that in when I had about 3-4 minutes left for it to simmer. I really din't feel like mashing the strawberries so I just used my food processor. This taste so much better than store bought stuff. I will be using this recipe often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was pretty good. It reminded me of the strawberry syrup I used to get on waffles at restaurants. Although I think that my strawberries were freezer burned, because I tasted a slight burn taste. My boyfriend couldn't taste it and said it was good. I thought it wouldn't be thick enough so I added corn starch, but it was thick enough by the time it was done cooking. The corn starch left little globs in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Delicious! Be sure to use fresh strawberries, and if it's too sweet for you, use less sugar! I like to add 1 TB or so of fresh squeezed lemon juice to this, and sometimes, depending what I'm using it for, 1 TB of finely chopped fresh mint. Soooo Yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This tasted better than the syrup you get with the strawberry pancakes at the Original Pancake House! Love this syrup and will continue to use it for forever!!!!! 10 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My family loves this syrup! I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. I wanted to thicken the consistency just slightly, so I added cornstarch to 2 cups of strawberry syrup. I slowly mixed it back into the remaining syrup and it turned out perfect!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
i made this with splenda it turned out good. It did take longer to get thicker and i refigerated the syrup over night before using. I used less sugar. I like 1/2 would be great, i used a scant 3/4 cups and it was pretty sweet. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I had made French Toast, and realized we were running low on syrup. Had some frozen strawberries that I wanted to use up, so we decided to make this. Dont really know if my husband cared for it, but my boys ages 4,2, and 1 loved it. :) thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I wasn't a big fan of this.. I've made my own syrup in the past and I loved it more than this one. The consistency wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This syrup served on the "fluffy pancakes" recipe is pure Heaven. Added sliced strawberries on top. My family said these were the best pancakes ever. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States