Strawberry Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I made this syrup to go on top of blueberry pancakes (I used the recipe "Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes" which is also on this site). This syrup was yummy! I did add extra strawberries though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was a very good strawberry syrup. I didn't add the full amount of sugar, as reccomended in other reviews, and it was plenty sweet. I did cook it a little longer to thicken slightly. Once it begins to cool it will thicken considerably more. Delicious! We enjoyed this on banana pancakes for a tooty-fruity delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was easy and came out perfect for pancakes! I used a 10 oz bag of frozen organic strawberries, 3/4 c water, and 3/4 c sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Delicious and easy recipe. I took the advice of some reviewers and cut the sugar to half a cup and also saved aside 1/4 cup of water and added 1 teaspoon of cornstarch which I added during the last minute. I did find it a little thin still, but that was okay because we let it cook until we needed it after supper. Definitely would have been too sweet with all the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe exactly as written. I think I will try it next time using raspberries. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Very simple to make and freezes wonderfully. I used this on strawberry shortcake and it was dreamy! Also combined it with sliced bananas to make a tasty kid-friendly treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was great. I used only about a 1/4 cup of sugar and it was still very sweet. I also added the corn starch to help thicken it per a previous post. Great alternative to maple syrup - which is gastly expensive now! (the real stuff, that is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
5 stars! The sugar/fruit ratio is perfect for SYRUP. Those of you complaining about it and using it for a cake or ice cream topping are forgetting something--you're using it on something already sweetened. This is pancake syrup, and as such, the ratio is perfect! Definitely halve the sugar if you're using this to top something that's already sweet, but for my pancakes, nothing yet has beaten this recipe! P.S.--This works for other fruits too, such as berries (any), cherries, peaches, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I made a few modifications but got the idea here. I used 1/2 cup of raw honey, 1 cup of water, and a quart sized container of strawberries. I pureed the strawberries in a food processor before adding it to the boiling honey and water. I cooked it for about 20 minutes but it was too thin. I then mixed 1 T. of rice flour (you could use cornstarch) in 1 T. of water and added it slowly to the boiling mixture and let it cook about 10 more minutes. It was absolutely delicious on the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Yum! I used an extra half cup of water and only 1/2 cup sugar. I also used extra strawberries. This was fabulous over challah French toast and my grandparents and fiancee LOVED it. I think reducing the sugar and using extra strawberries really brought out the flavor of the berries and wasn't too overpowering. It was also incredibly light, and not thick and gummy like strawberry topping you get at restaurants. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States