Strawberry Spinach Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
YUM!!!! Followed directions exactly. A BIG hit at the neighbor's swim party too. I was glad that someone posted that it was also good with mandarin oranges. It turned out the host of the party didn't like strawberry's, so I got some mandarins and made a special bowl just for him. EXCELLENT! It's good without the toasted sesame seeds, but the sesame seeds make it go from good to AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Bland. I felt the oil took over in this recipe. I didn't toast my sesame seeds and scaled this back to 3 servings. Added mandarin orange slices and left out the dry hot mustard. If I try this again, I will cut way back on the oil or use EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is the same recipe my mom has made for years. It's very simple and always a hit at potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Some nuts would also enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I made a couple of changes: omitted the mustard (just forgot to put it in!), and cut the sugar in half! I also added cukes and mushrooms. Served with sirloin tips and crusty bread - really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I am always time and ingredient challenged so I simplified the recipe and it was great. For the dressing I used: 1/2 cup vegetable oil 1/3 cup red wine vinegar 1/3 cup white sugar 2 tsp minced onion pinch of salt 1/4 teaspoon dry hot mustard (twist lightly toast pecans in the oven and toss with the salad) I Whisked the dressing ingredients together for better blending and absorption of flavors. It helped to minimize the separation of the oil and vinegar and also thickened the mixture. Fabulous. Cut down on the sugar a bit, if you're worried about the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
My husband loved this salad.He hated to share.The sesame seeds make it special.I will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Woa! This was a *great* salad! Since we are not very salty people, I halved the salt, and even that was a tad too noticeable for us, but all in all, it is a super salad! Thanks so much for the recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I hate uncooked spinach. I am also not a big fan of strawberries. However, I am addicted to this wonderful salad. I could eat it everyday. 5+ The only change I make is using olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I really liked this salad, but used more toasted sesame seeds than called for in the recipe, and also threw some sugar in with the dressing, as I thought it was a bit bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States