Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Absolutely Wonderful!!!! Everytime I make it someone asks for the recipe. I recommend cutting up the strawberries so the loaf will hold together better! Best strawberry bread I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
My husband and I both loved this bread! It is moist and fruity, and a good change of pace from the run of the mill banana bread. I smushed the strawberries up with my hands before adding them as someone suggested and I think that definitely helped disperse them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Smells and tastes great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I made this recipe for a few friends, and I loved it. Some of them didn't like it . . . probably because they couldn't figure out what fruit it was. I personally loved it and will definitely make it again! It has a nice subtle flavor, and it was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
yummy, but the strawberries made the whole thing fall apart! I cut them up, but still they became very soggy as they cooked and made a mess of the bread. So it tastes good, but dont make it if you want to make a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe! The strawberry flavor is something unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
If I didn't know that I added strawberries, I wouldn't have ever guessed that they were in there. I've never had great success making breads and this was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Such an outstanding recipe. I have made it 4 times, each time tweaking the recipe a little more. It's equally delicious with whole wheat flour, and I add a tablespoon of vanilla. I use brown sugar instead of white, and 3/4 cup is enough (for 10 servings). I always use fresh fruit instead of frozen. In my oven, it always takes at least an hour and a half to cook, and it's a very moist bread. So far, I've made strawberry raspberry, strawberry cranberry, and strawberry kiwi versions of the recipe, and they have all turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Delicious recipe! Even my 3 year old son enjoyed it! I used 1 lb. or 1 carton of fresh strawberries from the grocery. I chopped the strawberries up in my food processor and halved the recipe for only one loaf pan. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Banana bread is not one of my husbands favorites, so trying to find some kind of loaf to include in his lunch can be challenging - of all I've tried this recipe is now the most requested by far. The only changes I made were adding vanilla and, as I found the amount of oil to be a lot, I substituted 3/4 cup of applesauce and used only 1/2 cup of the oil. I did not have issues with the bread falling apart at all - it must be because I did not use whole strawberries as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States