Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I halved this recipe, and made it healtier. I used 3/4 cup sugar (instead of 1 cup), half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour (instead of all all-purpose), 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 oil (instead of all oil). Not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Banana bread is not one of my husbands favorites, so trying to find some kind of loaf to include in his lunch can be challenging - of all I've tried this recipe is now the most requested by far. The only changes I made were adding vanilla and, as I found the amount of oil to be a lot, I substituted 3/4 cup of applesauce and used only 1/2 cup of the oil. I did not have issues with the bread falling apart at all - it must be because I did not use whole strawberries as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Delicious recipe! Even my 3 year old son enjoyed it! I used 1 lb. or 1 carton of fresh strawberries from the grocery. I chopped the strawberries up in my food processor and halved the recipe for only one loaf pan. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Such an outstanding recipe. I have made it 4 times, each time tweaking the recipe a little more. It's equally delicious with whole wheat flour, and I add a tablespoon of vanilla. I use brown sugar instead of white, and 3/4 cup is enough (for 10 servings). I always use fresh fruit instead of frozen. In my oven, it always takes at least an hour and a half to cook, and it's a very moist bread. So far, I've made strawberry raspberry, strawberry cranberry, and strawberry kiwi versions of the recipe, and they have all turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
If I didn't know that I added strawberries, I wouldn't have ever guessed that they were in there. I've never had great success making breads and this was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe! The strawberry flavor is something unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
yummy, but the strawberries made the whole thing fall apart! I cut them up, but still they became very soggy as they cooked and made a mess of the bread. So it tastes good, but dont make it if you want to make a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I made this recipe for a few friends, and I loved it. Some of them didn't like it . . . probably because they couldn't figure out what fruit it was. I personally loved it and will definitely make it again! It has a nice subtle flavor, and it was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Smells and tastes great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
My husband and I both loved this bread! It is moist and fruity, and a good change of pace from the run of the mill banana bread. I smushed the strawberries up with my hands before adding them as someone suggested and I think that definitely helped disperse them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States