Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting a loaf consistency (firm, dense, moist), but instead this was more cake-like. It was very moist, however. I used fresh strawberries, and eyeballed the amount (I'm sure that I used more than I was supposed to). For me, the recipe made 4 loaves, not 2. It was a nice way to use up some extra strawberries, but I don't think that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This in my opinion is really a cake. I cooked it in a casserole dish. I also took review advice and added 1T. of vanilla and substituded the sugar for brown sugar. I also think next time I will add more strawberries. It was excellent. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
i love this recipe!! i made a few changes....1 cup sugar, 1 cup applesauce, 1 cup oil and 2 cups freeze dried strawberries(the kind they use in special k i found at bulk barn)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Yummy, and easy. I used all whole wheat flour, mashed the strawberries as others suggested, used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar. Very easy to make and tastes great. I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I was really surprised by how good this was... I taste-tested the batter and thought the cinnamon was a bit overwhelming, but the strawberry flavor really came out during baking. I'll be making these as holiday gifts, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I had a lot of extra strawberries so I was looking for something to do with them. This bread was okay but it wasn't phenomenal. I felt like it was missing something. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and more strawberries...but I felt like it needed more doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very, very moist! I used more than 10 oz of frozen strawberries (fresh home-frozen strawberries) that I chopped up, and I put in a third of the oil. Still very moist and tasty. I also halved the sugar and used splenda. Kinda reminded me of carrot cake but with strawberries instead... wouldn't really consider it a "loaf," which implies bread to me. Just cake baked in a loaf pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Great dish, loved it! Pay attention to recipe, this is a double loaf dish! Makes quite a bit of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FENNECUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cdfacc
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Wonderful! I did add wheat germ and flax seed, used convection heat for about 45 minutes. Also egg-replacer eggs worked great. I only did one loaf. That was my worst mistake. My picky kids wanted more! We all loved it. I'm making 2 loaves tomorrow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States