Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting a loaf consistency (firm, dense, moist), but instead this was more cake-like. It was very moist, however. I used fresh strawberries, and eyeballed the amount (I'm sure that I used more than I was supposed to). For me, the recipe made 4 loaves, not 2. It was a nice way to use up some extra strawberries, but I don't think that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This in my opinion is really a cake. I cooked it in a casserole dish. I also took review advice and added 1T. of vanilla and substituded the sugar for brown sugar. I also think next time I will add more strawberries. It was excellent. I will definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
i love this recipe!! i made a few changes....1 cup sugar, 1 cup applesauce, 1 cup oil and 2 cups freeze dried strawberries(the kind they use in special k i found at bulk barn)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Yummy, and easy. I used all whole wheat flour, mashed the strawberries as others suggested, used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar. Very easy to make and tastes great. I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I was really surprised by how good this was... I taste-tested the batter and thought the cinnamon was a bit overwhelming, but the strawberry flavor really came out during baking. I'll be making these as holiday gifts, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I had a lot of extra strawberries so I was looking for something to do with them. This bread was okay but it wasn't phenomenal. I felt like it was missing something. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and more strawberries...but I felt like it needed more doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very, very moist! I used more than 10 oz of frozen strawberries (fresh home-frozen strawberries) that I chopped up, and I put in a third of the oil. Still very moist and tasty. I also halved the sugar and used splenda. Kinda reminded me of carrot cake but with strawberries instead... wouldn't really consider it a "loaf," which implies bread to me. Just cake baked in a loaf pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Great dish, loved it! Pay attention to recipe, this is a double loaf dish! Makes quite a bit of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FENNECUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cdfacc
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Wonderful! I did add wheat germ and flax seed, used convection heat for about 45 minutes. Also egg-replacer eggs worked great. I only did one loaf. That was my worst mistake. My picky kids wanted more! We all loved it. I'm making 2 loaves tomorrow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States