Strawberry Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy Anne
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Twenty-two years ago I typed out a recipe for strawberry bread that I never used. Today I had 16 ounces of fresh strawberries I feared wouldn't last much longer. I decided it was finally time to give the recipe a whirl. (What can I say? I'm not the fastest draw in the land.) When I mixed it up it looked too heavy to me AND my twenty-two-year-old recipe mentioned mixing in cinnamon, which was not listed in the ingredients. Fortunately, I came across this recipe. It's exactly the same, except the recipe I was using called for 3 eggs, versus 4 here. Since I had already mixed my bread, I thought it too late to add another egg, so left that alone. Not only did this recipe tell me how much cinnamon to use and that the consistency of what I had mixed was right, but from the comments I was able to deduce that I needed to add a bit (1/3 C) of applesauce to make up for the fact that my fresh berries weren't as juicy as thawed frozen would be, and that 1 teaspoon of vanilla was also in order. By the end of my venture 22 years in the making, I turned out 4 beautiful mini-loaves (45 minute bake time) that my teens were just loving when they came home from school! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Turned out great as written. I had to measure my strawberries out, so it might have been a different amount, but turned out great! The whole family loved it. I was worried about the extra liquid from the unfrozen strawberries, but it turned out just fine. I also added less sugar than called for, but I'm sure it would have been great with the full amount too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I used some applesauce to offset some of the oil. Very moist and delicious! The color of my cake, however, was much different than the picture (mine was more purple/grey) - not quite as appetizing to the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Great! I will definitely make this again. Used applesauce to replace oil and soy flour to replace eggs. I used 1 package of frozen strawberries because it's all I had. Tuned out great! Will try again with other berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Had leftover strawberries from making jam today. Read the reviewes about this and decided to go ahead and double the receipe. So glad I did. My guys and I loved it. Moist and tasty!!! Will make this every time I have strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Fantastic recipe!!!! I only baked one loaf so halved all the ingredients. I put a lot less sugar, had a few fresh strawberries which were a bit "tired" and used those instead of frozen and I added walnut!!!! It's been out of the oven 2 minutes and I had 2 slices already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
LOVE it. Was so easy to make and it tastes so good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Have made the Strawberry Loaf 6 times now & feel that I can now review it. It's a great recipe. I have always halved the ingredients to only make one loaf. I've only ever used fresh strawberries cut up small. The only change other than using frozen fruit is - I use 1/2 cup veg oil & 1/3 cup milk to reduce the oil needed. My kids love a change from the usual banana loaf I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I wasn't sure about the combination of spices and strawberries, but this was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
this bread was really really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States