Strawberry Shortcut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Made this for Easter - it was a hit! Everyone wanted seconds. Sort of had a strawberry/rhubarb taste to it - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
My frozen strawberries were whole so I gave them a quick rinse (to knock the ice crystals off) & sliced them in the food processor. Then I sprinkled them w/ a little sugar & let them sit in the food processor until thawed. I took Jane's suggestion to make it easier & used a white, boxed cake mix. After baking, the strawberries were at the bottom of the cake (w/ quite a bit of juice, which may put off some people, but we liked it) & the marshmallows had risen to the top & melted, creating a marshmallowy crust. Yummm! I drizzed a pool of strawberry puree (the kind you use in mixed drinks) onto a plate, added the cake & topped it w/ a dollop of whipped cream & a fanned-out strawberry. Thanks for the recipe Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I came upon this recipe and I made it for a family gathering. It was sooo good everyone wanted the recipe. It was great and my boys and I dont care for strawberries but with this cake it was Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Personally, I didn't like this cake, and my daughter didn't either. I made it for my boss birthday, hope I don't get fired. I'll find out if she liked it, but she'll probably lie and say yes. I added everything just like the recipe says and it didn't work. That or I'm just not a strawberry fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is one of my most favorite recipes, but I do change it a little to make it quicker and simpler. The only thing I keep the same is the marshmallows, strawberries, and Jello. Skip all the rest of the ingredients and use a box of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix and prepare it like it says on the box for a 9x13 cake. Pour the prepared batter over the marshmallows, then the strawberry mixture on top of the batter and bake like it says on the box. Test it with a toothpick taking care to avoid the marshmallows that rose to the top. Leave it in the pan and cut serving pieces from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This was a good cake. Very tasty and moist. I had to cook it a little longer. Top with cool whip. I also used fresh strawberries, just added a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
VERY GOOD --I MADE IT OFTEN FOR KIDS BIRTHDAY PARTIES--THIS A GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I made this cake for a friend's birthday party. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. In fact, someone made it this week-end for a Mother's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States