Strawberry Shortcut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly. TIP: make sure your strawberries are completely thawed, even microwave them until they are luke warm. It will blend so much better while baking this way....I discovered by trial and error. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used to make this all the time and had lost the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I lost my copy of this recipe so was so happy to find it here. Thank you so much. If you haven't tried this recipes, it is wonderful. Especially enjoy in when fresh strawberries aren't available
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tarkio, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I still have the original recipe torn from a PILLSBURY flour bag about 50 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I made some changes to this recipe. I used fresh berries, not frozen. My other changes were in the interests of making it healthier. I used white whole wheat flour, not all purpose. I used only one egg and 1/3 cup egg whites instead of three. I used fat free vanilla yogurt instead of shortening. Of course the milk was fat free and my the jello was the sugar free stuff. Barring tonight, I had not had this dessert in over 25 years, but even making it a healthier lighter version, I still see why it was my favorite. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Fast easy and good. I have made this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Wow! This is so great! I had this recipe years ago and "loaned" this recipe to a friend and never got it back. I used to make this all the time and when it's cold it's even better tasting! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
this was very good. especially if you want a break from store bought shortcakes. I did just like jane did and made it easy by doing a cake mix. It turned out really moist, so make sure you add enough gelatin to the mix of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I had lots of strawberries left over and tried this using the cake mix hint from the previous review (Thanks!!!). My only difference was that I did not have frozen strawberry so I mixed one box of jello with 1/2 c boiling water and 1/2 c cold water-then added that to sliced strawberries. Prepared and baked as directed then topped with cool whip. I cannot tell you how much a hit this was!! Adults and kids alike all enjoyed this--tasted better than any strawberry shortcake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
We all love this recipe. Most of the time I make it exactly as written, but the last time I decided to shortcut the shortcut cake and I used a box yellow cake mix. Blah! Didn't like it at all that way. So in my opinion it's WAY better to make it as written. YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States