Strawberry Shortcut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I came upon this recipe and I made it for a family gathering. It was sooo good everyone wanted the recipe. It was great and my boys and I dont care for strawberries but with this cake it was Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I made this cake for a friend's birthday party. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. In fact, someone made it this week-end for a Mother's Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is one of my most favorite recipes, but I do change it a little to make it quicker and simpler. The only thing I keep the same is the marshmallows, strawberries, and Jello. Skip all the rest of the ingredients and use a box of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix and prepare it like it says on the box for a 9x13 cake. Pour the prepared batter over the marshmallows, then the strawberry mixture on top of the batter and bake like it says on the box. Test it with a toothpick taking care to avoid the marshmallows that rose to the top. Leave it in the pan and cut serving pieces from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Made this for Easter - it was a hit! Everyone wanted seconds. Sort of had a strawberry/rhubarb taste to it - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
We all love this recipe. Most of the time I make it exactly as written, but the last time I decided to shortcut the shortcut cake and I used a box yellow cake mix. Blah! Didn't like it at all that way. So in my opinion it's WAY better to make it as written. YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I had lots of strawberries left over and tried this using the cake mix hint from the previous review (Thanks!!!). My only difference was that I did not have frozen strawberry so I mixed one box of jello with 1/2 c boiling water and 1/2 c cold water-then added that to sliced strawberries. Prepared and baked as directed then topped with cool whip. I cannot tell you how much a hit this was!! Adults and kids alike all enjoyed this--tasted better than any strawberry shortcake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Wow! This is so great! I had this recipe years ago and "loaned" this recipe to a friend and never got it back. I used to make this all the time and when it's cold it's even better tasting! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I made some changes to this recipe. I used fresh berries, not frozen. My other changes were in the interests of making it healthier. I used white whole wheat flour, not all purpose. I used only one egg and 1/3 cup egg whites instead of three. I used fat free vanilla yogurt instead of shortening. Of course the milk was fat free and my the jello was the sugar free stuff. Barring tonight, I had not had this dessert in over 25 years, but even making it a healthier lighter version, I still see why it was my favorite. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I still have the original recipe torn from a PILLSBURY flour bag about 50 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I lost my copy of this recipe so was so happy to find it here. Thank you so much. If you haven't tried this recipes, it is wonderful. Especially enjoy in when fresh strawberries aren't available
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tarkio, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States