Strawberry Shortcut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is one of my most favorite recipes, but I do change it a little to make it quicker and simpler. The only thing I keep the same is the marshmallows, strawberries, and Jello. Skip all the rest of the ingredients and use a box of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix and prepare it like it says on the box for a 9x13 cake. Pour the prepared batter over the marshmallows, then the strawberry mixture on top of the batter and bake like it says on the box. Test it with a toothpick taking care to avoid the marshmallows that rose to the top. Leave it in the pan and cut serving pieces from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
We all love this recipe. Most of the time I make it exactly as written, but the last time I decided to shortcut the shortcut cake and I used a box yellow cake mix. Blah! Didn't like it at all that way. So in my opinion it's WAY better to make it as written. YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This was a good cake. Very tasty and moist. I had to cook it a little longer. Top with cool whip. I also used fresh strawberries, just added a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I made some changes to this recipe. I used fresh berries, not frozen. My other changes were in the interests of making it healthier. I used white whole wheat flour, not all purpose. I used only one egg and 1/3 cup egg whites instead of three. I used fat free vanilla yogurt instead of shortening. Of course the milk was fat free and my the jello was the sugar free stuff. Barring tonight, I had not had this dessert in over 25 years, but even making it a healthier lighter version, I still see why it was my favorite. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I lost my copy of this recipe so was so happy to find it here. Thank you so much. If you haven't tried this recipes, it is wonderful. Especially enjoy in when fresh strawberries aren't available
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tarkio, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I still have the original recipe torn from a PILLSBURY flour bag about 50 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I had lots of strawberries left over and tried this using the cake mix hint from the previous review (Thanks!!!). My only difference was that I did not have frozen strawberry so I mixed one box of jello with 1/2 c boiling water and 1/2 c cold water-then added that to sliced strawberries. Prepared and baked as directed then topped with cool whip. I cannot tell you how much a hit this was!! Adults and kids alike all enjoyed this--tasted better than any strawberry shortcake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
My frozen strawberries were whole so I gave them a quick rinse (to knock the ice crystals off) & sliced them in the food processor. Then I sprinkled them w/ a little sugar & let them sit in the food processor until thawed. I took Jane's suggestion to make it easier & used a white, boxed cake mix. After baking, the strawberries were at the bottom of the cake (w/ quite a bit of juice, which may put off some people, but we liked it) & the marshmallows had risen to the top & melted, creating a marshmallowy crust. Yummm! I drizzed a pool of strawberry puree (the kind you use in mixed drinks) onto a plate, added the cake & topped it w/ a dollop of whipped cream & a fanned-out strawberry. Thanks for the recipe Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
VERY GOOD --I MADE IT OFTEN FOR KIDS BIRTHDAY PARTIES--THIS A GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Fast easy and good. I have made this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States