Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Delicious! I too decreased the baking soda to 2 teaspoons and used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelgrae
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is incredible. I also cut the baking powder in half like others and would recommend it. Everyone that ate it raved all night about it, it is deffinantly going to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelgrae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I HAD TO MAKE IT 2 TIMES TO MAKE SURE I DIDN'T MISS SOMETHING AND MESS UP THE RECIPE...I JUST DIDN'T THINK IT HAD ANY FLAVOR !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Sooooo yummy! this was my first time baking a cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Fantastic recipe ! Jus like my mother used to make before the days of the packaged mix. The shortcake is sweet and tender. I did follow some suggestions with baking powder,sugar, and additional shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Fantastic biscuit-style shortcake. This was a huge hit with the whole family. I made it exactly according to the recipe, except that I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. It was delicious - no baking powder taste, and quite sweet enough with the berries and whipped cream. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this after reading the hints/tips from other commenters. I was really looking for the "cake" part of the strawberry shortcake to go with my frozen strawberries, ice cream and cool whip. This recipe looked good and it was. While I don't know exactly what the original would have been like, I decided to take the advice of others to decrease the amount of baking powder (2 tsp instead of 4 tsp) and I doubled the sugar in the cake/biscuit part. I made individual biscuits in a 9x9 pan, baked for 15 minutes. After they cooled for 5 minutes I layered half the biscuit, frozen sweetened strawberries, cool whip, vanilla ice cream, and strawberries. I had forgotten to add the other half biscuit so I broke it up and put it around the side of the bowl. These were delicious. I worry about how they would have tasted with the original recipe so I only gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is wonderful! I prefer butter and used it instead of shortening and added baking sugar crystals to the top the last 5 minutes of baking...mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States